Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
WOW! This is super tasty! Munching on a slice right now with some "gunline coffee" off this site. Made this today to use up some fresh ginger, and it is to die for. Was just a smidge shy on the fresh ginger, since was using up what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Used a silicon bundt on a cookie sheet, and baked for a little over 50 minutes. This is moist and light and has the perfect ginger flavor for my taste. Hit it with a little powdered sugar, just like suggested, and it doesn't need anything else. Not overly sweet and goes perfect with coffee... especially warm since I couldn't wait for it to cool all the way to try it since it smelled so wonderful. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This cake is delicious! This is the first cake I've made in my new bundt pan, and it came out beautifully. I used a little less than the amount of fresh ginger called for. I didn't think the cake was 'spicy' or overpowering at all, and I did not add any icing to it. I will definitely make it again, probably adding some nuts. Golden raisins might be nice in this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
All in all I think this is pretty good. It gets better with each bite it seems. Would make again just as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Moore Lutz
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
this will be the second year that I will make this for Christmas, it is a HIT! I top it with creamcheese frosting II and chopped candied ginger and craisins. SOOOO Good! i will try to post a pic this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Moore Lutz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A lovely cake, well turned out, used crystallized ginger (double) as it was all I had at time but looking forward to fresh ginger as it might give it a real kick for those who like the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My husband loves ginger so I thought I would try this. I myself dont even like ginger BUT this cake is delicious!!!! I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This cake is wonderful, I added 1/2 tsp allspice and frosted it with allspice cream cheese frosting from this site which I already had made for another cake, I just thinned it out with milk and poured it over the cake. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
A little too ginger-y for me, but that's my personal preference. If you like ginger, you will love this cake - otherwise, you might want to cut back a bit on the ginger. I should have kept in mind what other reviewers have said about its texture - it is more like a pound cake or bread than the fluffy "cake" consistency that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Not having any all purpose flour on hand, I used some cake flour and the cake came out just as perfect, a nice dense and very moist cake with a wonderful flavor. Definately one I'll keep in mind for future events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this along with a heavy fruit tart for Christmas desert. It was really nice and provided something on the lighter side. I only used about half the fresh ginger after reading the reviews and thought it came out great. I garnished it with powder sugar and whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States