Borscht II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Needed more broth. Never had borscht before but my boyfriend liked it. He did say it was not soupy enough and needed more liquid but easy dish to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I had to add extra salt and pepper. Next time I'll skip the cabbage, tasted too much like regular cabbage soup, not so much like what I remember in Russia. Still a good Borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Made slight modifications to this recipe, based on Borscht I. Added dill weed. My husband loved this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This Borscht is pretty good, but it could use some modifications. As the other reviewers suggested, a few tablespoons of dill is necessary to make this authentic. Also, I substituted tomato puree for the tomato juice to thicken the soup and give it a little heartier flavor. I'd also suggest adding more salt and pepper, to taste. This should be served with a dollop of sour cream, plain yogurt, or kefir. If you want to reduce the fat content, let the borscht cool and skim the fat off the top - the beef shanks do add a good amount of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Great Borsch! I was trying to find a recipe that is similar to my Grandma's Polish Borsch and this one sounded close. Im giving this 4 stars because, like other reviewers said, it needs that fresh dill to give it the right taste. I added about 3 tablespoons. I also used much more cabbage and beets than was supposed to. an entire small head of cabbage and 6 large beets. I also think this recipe would be better if using short ribs instead of beef schank, but everyone in my family enjoyed this. Tumbs up - im not an experienced cook yet and it was not too difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitz The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
While this is certainly a good borscht, it's not the best I've ever had. I prefer a thicker broth. This one was very watery. I also prefer a stronger tomato base. A hefty amount of tomato paste and diced tomatoes rather than the tomato juice might help. The main thing that saved this from being 3 stars in my book is the beef, which I find to be essential. The vegetarian borscht recipes I've tried taste like dirt. It will be a while before I experiment with this recipe again since it is fairly time consuming (even with a food processor). The ingredients also aren't items I typcally keep stocked in the house, which makes it a little more costly than some other meals I enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I had never eaten borscht before. However, my curiosity was piqued by some friends who recently visited Russia and raved about the borscht. So I looked up several recipes and this one seemed the most appealing. All I can say is WOW!!! This soup is incredible!! It's rich yet it is really low in fat (I refrigerated the broth overnight and skimmed off the fat) and high in fiber. The color is gorgeous. It fits in perfectly with the way I eat. I used my Cuisinart to shred the veggies so it was really a snap. This is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I loved this soup!!! I am an amateur cook and I was able to make it without difficulty. It is a lot of work but worth it. I am freezing the extras for a cold winter night when I am too tired to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
A tablespoon of dill put this into the "awesome" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Two spoons up! Chopped everything with a knife, and it took just a little bit of time. Add about 1 tablespoonful of dill weed for a really nice flavor.While the soup was simmering, I made some French bread. Oh, what a good meal. This soup tastes even better the next day.Highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States