Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
The recipe was great, but the directions were a bit odd, not very clear. I used two beets and after they softened, I diced one, pureed the other and added it to the soup as another person suggested. I also chopped and threw the leafy ends of the beets in with the soup for added nutrition. I used way more dill than called for because I love dill. This is the first time I've made this and I am very impressed with the great flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jrenee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I added extra butter and dill and used a pint of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delilah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salmo, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
So Yummy, My Hubby never used to eat much for veggies till the last few years,....not sure what has come over him but it's a good thing! And now making this "Borscht" HE CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF IT!!! I didn't care for the "METHOD" so did it my way and I also used "ALOT" more beets ~6 Meduim Beets~! A Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Schoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made this borscht today and it was wonderful! One of the best I've had. I really liked the fact that the beet flavor wasn't predominante as we aren't big beet fans. The directions were a bit odd though and I had to read them over a few times to make sure I got it; I wasn't sure where to add the dill, so I put it in the pot at the end. And, I don't care for crunchy cabbage so I sauteed the entire bunch. I also thought it needed more salt and pepper then stated, but we like salty things. All in all I loved this one. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Wasn't pleased with the directions for this recipe...finished result was just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This soup was amazing. I loved it, and my husband even like it too! The only change I made (because I like beets) was I chopped the beets and left them in the soup. I fully suggest the dollop of sour cream; it really adds to the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya MacKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I come from a Polish family and haven't had Borscht this good since my grandma passed away. It was absolutly delicious! I skipped the step where you take out some tomato mixture and added it later, it didn't seem nessessary. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I really wanted to make this recipe but I'm somewhat lazy so I omitted all the steps done in the skillet and just sauteed garlic and onions in my soup pot, added the cabbage, sauteed some more and then just added everything else in the diced/canned/liquid form (excluding the dairy). At the end, I took an immersion blender and pureed it just slightly to give it a thick but chunky texture. I quite like the flavour (it was even better the next day!), but of course I don't know what the original would have been like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I didn't throw out the beet, instead I pureed half and diced half. I also left out the green pepper. Very delicious, my book club still talks about how they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is the best borscht i have ever tasted! very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coquitlamom3
Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States