Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This recipe is a little tricky because of all the preparations steps, but is hard to really mess up. I added a large clove of garlic, which improved the soup's mild taste, and served it with sourdough bread. The sourdough was a great addition, as was a whole branch of fresh dill. The bright pink color was hard to get over at first, but my dad loved it and even my picky 8-year old sister ate it. Even though none of us had tried beets before, this soup was surprisingly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was incredibly tasty and worked well as leftovers. However, I peeled the beets (I used several small beets) before adding, and when I removed them, I pureed them and added them back in. A bit of sour cream on the top when served made it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter, at least as far as I could, but maybe the post office was closed. There are several problems here: First, the ingredients list dill, yet there is no mention in the preparation how or when to use this. I just added it to the boiling broth. Second, it does not indicate how long the potatoes should boil on high. I left it until the step to remove potatoes. By then there was very little liquid left and the final result was a light pink "soup" with the consistency of creamy mashed potatoes. I had to add 2 cups of water just to make it a thick soup and it had no resemblance to borscht from the photos I've seen. The bright side is that it tasted good, but it just tasted like many potato soups. I was looking for something completely different. I have since located a classic borscht recipe on another website by an actual Russian woman that looks really good. It is far different and has meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TE5LA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I am from Russia, and we do not put celery into borsht; it absolutely has to be made in beef or pork bouillon, so that veggies be cooked in it. Start with potatoes, add cabbage and onions with carrots, nothing fried before, finally add precooked and shredded beet with tomatoes, bay leaf and dill is the key; want it sour? use sauerkraut. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used mostly the same ingredients, but I didn't go through all the procedures, because I didn't really see the point of it. I just wanted to say that I roasted 3 large beets, then left them in the soup and used red cabbage AND purple potatoes! Then, after everything was soft, I used my immersion blender to puree the whole thing. This soup is the most beautiful ruby color. It's gorgeous! I'm eating it next day, cold with a dollop of yogurt, and drinking a Purple Haze from Abita, just to go with the theme. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Never had Borscht before -- red beets lower your blood pressure which prompted our visit. This recipe was delicious. Didn't have a few ingredients, had to use some spaghetti sauce instead of tomatoes, but still was very tasty! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Love this borsch. I never use water making soups. I put about 10 cups of chicken broth. First I saute the onions, green pepper, celery, carrots, chopped up beets(which I don't throw out once cooked. I leave in the soup). When these are sauteed where they are not real hard, I then add the 10 cups of broth, 1-28oz. diced tomatoes & diced potatoes. I then saute more onion with another can of diced tomatoes(14oz). When I've sauteed where the onion gets softer, I add 1/2 the cabbage and cook a little longer. I mash my potatoes as the recipe says & add to the soup along with the rest of the cabbage. I always end up adding more of the veggies & broth than the recipe calls for because my husband & I love a hearty soup. The dill & pepper spices of course. This is a wonderful recipe that obviously I've tweaked to our likes. It is a regular, especially in the winter at our house. I make an 8 qt. pot of it & it freezes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nickole81
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very yummy...considering this was a meatless borscht. I have made before with a lamb base. Still very yummy. Shredding the cabbage finely instead of chopping added a lovely texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickole81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is an authentic borscht, because there are in fact different types of borscht from region to region in Eastern Europe. This borscht in particular is from the Doukhabors of Russia and Ukraine who migrated to BC, Alberta and Saskatchewan. It is meant to be orange in colour, and is actually spelled Borsch. To be called borsch, or barszcz (Polish), the soup doesn't need to be full of beets, or even have any at all. This version of borscht is amazing, and not to be messed around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was fabulous for a cool, rainy day. I'm lactose intolerant so I substituted the dairy products called for with LF creamer and margarine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States