Borboletas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the instructions exactly. I really did not care for it. If you are serving this as a main dish, then maybe this could be 8 servings. If you are serving it as a side dish, it is more like 16 servings. Also, the ratio of pasta to other ingredients is off, in my opinion. The first time I ate this, the pasta was overwhelming. I could hardly taste any of the other ingredients, and I did not care for the Italian dressing. Maybe I needed to use better Italian dressing?? (I used Kraft's Italian dressing.) The second time I made this, I doubled the tomato and cucumber, added some kalmata olives, and used the Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing (approx 1 1/2 cups) from this site instead of bottled Italian dressing. I served this chilled as a side dish at a cook-out. I enjoyed it much more the second time with these adjustments. I would give this 5 stars with changes; however, rating the recipe as submitted, I can only give 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
It's pasta salad. Been making this for years and just changing up the cheese - sometimes mozzarella, sometimes provolone, sometimes Parmesan, sometimes feta, etc. I also add a little minced red onion or finely sliced green onion. Start with this recipe and add what you like - sliced olives, finely diced pepperoni, toasted pine nuts, etc. It's really not all that good when it's warm. It tastes best at room temperature. You can adjust the amount of dressing to taste. In fact, dress the pasta warm then taste it after it cools. You might find it needs more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this for my daughter's school lunch and my husband who works outside and does not have access to a microwave. Really nice alternative to a cold sandwich. We all liked it. The only thing I may change next time is to use less pasta or use more dressing. I only used a 12 oz box of bow tie's but left all other ingredients the same. But I thought that the pasta was still a bit dry. However, this may be because we did not eat it right away and it absorbed some of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made a few slight modifications to this recipe, and it turned out pretty well. Not earth-shattering pasta salad, but definitely pretty tasty. I added about 1/2 of a red onion, 1/2 cup alfalfa/clover sprouts, some garlic, a bit of basil, a chopped avocado, and a splash of lemon juice. The lemon juice made a HUGE difference in flavor-- probably my favorite part of my upgrade (along with the avocado & sprouts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I tried this recipe but made a few changes and it turned out great. **Added purple onion and used Newman's Parmesan and Roasted Garlic dressing instead of Italian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really flavorful and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe, easy to whip up and room for customization. I replaced the italian dressing for Italian Ranch. Tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I thought it was MUCH better as a cold dish. I de-seeded the cucumber and tomato. This is a very, very light tasting dish, so much so that I used 1 cup of dressing versus the 1/4 cup stated. Next time I will use tomato flavored feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I used Greek salad dressing instead of Italian because it sounded better with the Greek flavors in the salad. I definitely preferred this as a cold side dish. Great in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i have this chilling in the fridge right now...it is really good warm...i had to taste it before chilling it and...i used grape tomatoes cut in half coz that is what i had and kraft tuscan italian dressing becoz it is my favourite italian dressing...oh and i used whole wheat bowties...i will make this again...thank u for the recipe...update ... the feta cheese i used was a pkg. from kraft...crumbled feta with oregano, sun-dried tomatoes and cracked peppercorns...another update...it is very good as a chilled pasta salad...my unexpected company thought it was really good...thanks again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States