Boozy Birdy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
A non chicken lover says this recipe is fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Made this for supper tonight and it was fabulous. Follows the recipe exactly and scaled down the servings. Wish I hadn't. Would love more leftovers. Chicken was tender and sauce was great. This recipe rocks. Never had sazon before and wasn't sure I would like. In a word "awesome". Thanks for a great chicken recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this exactly as directed - and it was great! I have to say, this might be the absolute best way to grill chicken. The skin was nice and crisp, the sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was really good. I had to through them under the broiler because of it storming outside and it still turned out good. Can't wait until I can up them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
LOVED this and I LOVE the bright orange the sazon adds. The only BBQ sauce I use is Gates (Kansas City brand and the best around in my opinion) and it is orange-y too so that just made it extra special. I'll admit that I went lightly on the sauce during the grilling and I also used skinless thighs but only due to our preference. The end result was overall excellent flavor that did not overpower the chicken yet you could still gently pick up on the beer and bbq sauce flavor. Love it Patty Cakes and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Boozy Birdy ROCKS! This recipe will be served again & again all summer long :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldielocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Found the Sazon at a local Hispanic market and followed this recipe using Corona, also added some minced garlic to the marinade. I also used a spicy hot bbq sauce -- Boozy Birdy was a hit and we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a winner, winner recipe. The only thing I would change is to use real minced garlic instead of garlic powder...and I would add alot more. The marinade, when boiled and reduced, cooks all the rawness of the chicken and makes it safe for consumption. When you add the BBQ sauce to the thickened marinade, it makes a glaze like sauce that just bumps up the already yummy grilled chicken to a whole different level. You can change the flavor of the sauce by changing the kind of BBQ sauce you use. I plan on using a spicy BBQ sauce next time, but any BBQ sauce will make it a winner dinner. I can always tell when dinner is a hit...my husband says it is good without me asking and goes for seconds. He thinks using Guiness beer next time is called for...I think any dark beer will work!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is for those of you, like Boater, who feel that reusing the marinade is dangerous due to raw chicken factor, in #4 of the directions, it says to 'Boil' the marinade. By boiling it, it Cooks the marinade making it Safe to add the bbq sauce to it to slather on the grilled cooked chicken. I would Never suggest other wise!! I hope this helps those in doubt. Enjoy with my blessing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I am happy to be the first to review this new recipe with a glowing reccomendation. I was staring at a package of BLSL chicken thighs, trying to be inventive when I happened on this recipe. I used homemade sazon seasoning because all I could find in the stores had MSG and I actually had achiote from the gift exchange, and my SIL's homemade version of Big Daddy's BBQ sauce. This was a hands down winner and will be made often this grilling season. Thanks Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States