Bonnie's Fruit Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe as a base. Be sure to cream the cream cheese and the sour cream first. I didn't use the brown sugar, but instead I used white bakers' sugar which is very fine and mixes well. I added the sugar a little at a time and tasted it to be sure it was not too sweet. I also used strawberry flavored extract instead of the vanilla. At the end I used a little pure maple syrup. My Super Bowl party guests could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTEMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This dip is REALLY Good, but not with fruit! I give it 3 stars because of the title. I think it should be a bagel spread. I personally like a more refreshing dip, like one mixed with concentrated orange juice. I thought that the brown sugar and syrup took away from the taste of the strawberries. It looks like onion dip (I would add food coloring if serving guests) I will use this batch as bagel spread or frosting for a rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was really good. I took the advice of others and added the cool whip last. Also, I didn't care too much for the color, and I think that it is why my baby wouldn't try it. She won't touch anything that's weird looking. So, I think next time I will add a few drops of red food coloring for prettiness. Also, I didn't make mine low fat, but I think I will make it again and use fat free sour cream and cream cheese and the light cool whip and see how it tastes. Then, I could have it anytime instead of just for a special occassion. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Oh my this was good. Very easy too! I just mixed it up and let it chill while I chopped some fruit up and voila! Appetizers. Everyone loved this. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Wow, my mouth is still recovering from this sweet treat! Absolutely delicious, easy to make and will be a hit at this years Christmas eve party. Thanks Bonnie! I adjusted this to be diabetic friendly by replacing 1/2 the whipped cream with fat free, Splenda sweetened vanilla yoghurt, replaced the sugars with brown sugar twin and Splenda and the maple syrup with Aitkens maple flavored syrup. A bit too sweet perhaps, so will have to work on the substitutions a bit more. Oh, I also halved the added vanilla due to the flavoured yoghurt and used stawberry cream flavoured low fat cream cheese. My oh my oh my....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is the second time I have used this recipe. The reviews were again astounding! I agree that using a 1/2 a tablespoon make this less overwhelming and lets this dip enhance the flavor of the fruit served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Delicious! Great with Strawberries! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This dip is DELICIOUS! I used commercially purchased whipped topping and folded it in gently as the last step. It was light and fluffy. Everyone at the party raved about it. I used the shell of the pineapple I served with it as a bowl to serve it in. Inexpensive and very nice presentation surrounded by a variety of colorful fruits. Thanks, Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Great recipe. i forgot to put the vanilla in and it still tastes great. I served this with granny smith apples and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States