Boniet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is SO good. Because of the acidity of some of the ingredients, I was surprised by how rich and mellow this is. I live in Texas, and we eat EVERYTHING with tortilla chips. This is great with tortilla chips! Eating this with bread reminds me of spinach dip. This is an addictive spread, and I will be sure to make it for EVERY party I have or go to in the future. It's really unusual, but really good and oddly familiar and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I make this without the anchovies, which probably makes it a totally different dish, but we really like it. It is very garlicky, and great spread on rustic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Took it to a dinner party and it was a big hit. Not a drop left. Everyone asked for the recipe. Didn't change a thing. Even those who weren't anchovy fans loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I made this for an italian themed dinner that I had. It was a very good appetizer and was very different from anything I have had before. Even my super picky brother was intrigued and enjoyed it. I thought it was a fun change of pace from the usual things I make. I can't say that it was my favorite appetizer I've ever made but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
WOW! I didn't think anyone else knew about this, nor called it the same thing we do! My italian grandmother made this for us every Christmas. We dip slices of fennel bulb in this or if fennel is not available, celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I am stunned and thrilled, because I honestly thought I'd never find this recipe. I thought my grandma made it up! This pungent spread is one of my all-time favorite foods. Grandma was an Italian lady who always grew an abundance of parsley, so in the summer we had an abundance of boniet! I didn't even know how to spell it until today. TRY IT! Grandma's recipe had only four ingredients: parsley, anchovies, garlic, and EVOO. I'd give anything to have her make more for me! One can become addicted to this stuff. In the dead of winter I crave it because it means summer to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I have made this recipe on numerous occasions that I've found myself with an over abundance of parsley. 2 bunches of parsley isn't too much, since it's tha main ingerdient. I was amazed at how people were drawn to the pungent aroma of this dish. Most of my guests were also shocked that they loved this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
different, it's like making your own garlic bread at the table. I will make this again. Very unusual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Too much anchovy taste. I ended up throwing most of it away. I may try again with less anchovy, although it reminded me more of a pesto and less of a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bagna Cauda

Warm olive oil and butter dipping sauce with anchovy fillets and garlic.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States