Boniet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This "Boniet" was a tasty treat for a weekend brunch. I made mine a day ahead as recommended for better flavor; however, I found that it also tasted good when freshly made (just less of an anchovy flavor). If I were to make this again I would look for a recipe that was more specific about how much parsley I am supposed to use ("2 bunches" being rather vague) because my end result was rather oily. I would also use ITALIAN PARSLEY now that I think about it. I had never tasted boniet before, so I am not certain if it is supposed to be oily. My husband, Jack Sprat who can eat no fat, refused to eat it (1 star). I served my boniet over fried slices of zucchini and eggplant since I don't eat bread. I really enjoyed it (5 stars). I will also try it with slices of tomato and fennel as suggested by other reviewers. I think it would also taste nice as a sauce on white fish. Thank you Suzi-Q for sharing your recipe. REVIEW UPDATE: I just noticed in a review by herbcrazigal that 1 bunch of parsley = 1.5 cups of parsley. I believe the bunches of organic parsley in the organics market where I shop are considerably smaller (which explains my oily boniet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I replaced the parsley with fresh basil and the vinegar with juice from 1/2 lemon. I also added 1/2 can of black olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Wonderful! Guests loved it. Gave some to a friend who took it to a family gathering. Was a great success with everyone. Said it was a delicious topping for the main course meat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Served this for 7 guests. I did not like it, too much olive oil as other reviewers have already commented on. Most of the guests loved it! The fresh parsley is wonderful, as is the garlic. I am commenting because I think the anchovy is essential, but difficult to hide. I processed the parsley, garlic, and anchovies in a food processor but the anchovies still came out in big chunks that left an unpleasant after taste for some of my guests. I think it may be better to process the anchovies into very small pieces first, or use half of the amount suggested. I noticed other reviewers wash the anchovies first, but I think the salt is essential to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Just made this, haven't tried it yet. But for those that don't know (I didn't!), one "bunch" of parsley equals 1-1/2 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very different ,but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I thought this was good, but I’m not sure how often I would make it. I think parsley fresh out of the garden might be helpful and I would also add the anchovy slowly until you’re happy with the taste. It was good for something different and I will try it again at some point. I think if you've grown up with it then it is probably like a taste of home. For someone like me that has never had it I didn't find it THAT amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This stuff is addictive. So yummy!!!! Hubby & son devoured it. I used basalmic instead just bc we love it. Was especially good on sliced tomatoes with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle9491

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When I read this recipe I found it to be strange. I was very iffy about a dip/spread made with......FISH! But I will always try something new because my motto is: you won't know if you like it unless you try it. I literally finished making this less than 15 minutes ago. This was SOOOOOO good I just had to immediately hop on the computer and leave my review. I apologize for butchering your recipe but I did make changes based on ingredients I already had at home. I used cilantro instead of parsley.I used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar.I didn't drain the anchovies and used the olive oil that was already in the can of anchovies instead of using the 1/2 cup of olive oil.I added 12 capers. I then dumped everything into my mini food processor and lightly pulsed until I liked the way it looked (maybe 10 super quick pulses). I know it should marinate overnight but what can I say? I was CURIOUS! So I grabbed a veggie cracker just to dip the tip in next thing you know I'm carrying it to the living room to sit on the couch and dig in with veggie crackers and with celery sticks. Thank you! I'm making this one of MY family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States