Bones of the Dead Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
I've been searching for a recipe that my mom called taralli. they were hard cookies that were not too sweet and lasted a long time. she rolled them between her hands and then formed circles and baked them. your cookies are the closest i've come to duplicating them. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
These cookies are more work than they're worth. They're not bad, but the overnight wait just isn't worth it. Plus, the batter is horrendously sticky and gloms onto the tea towel, making a big mess. The flavour is rather delicate. I think added cinnamon might make them tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I did not care for these. They were very sticky. How do you roll the mess into little balls I would like to know. The ground cloves is an odd taste for a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My Sicilian father had remembered about this type of cookie during Christmas, while talking about the family members we missed. After a quick search I found your recipe. He was very surprised and enjoyed them. It turns out that I found others who know of this cookie and I got two thumbs up. I'm glad you shared your cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Loved this , easy for the kids and fun to eat. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is one of the best cookie recipes I've ever tried. It's not too sweet, the texture is great( crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside). A perfect addition to coffee. Using orange extract instead of almond also works well with this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Soooo good! These cookies are crunchy on the outside and cake-like on the inside and so easy to make! NOTE: They have to rise overnight, so plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was an absolutely delicious recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These are great! I like simple treats like biscotti, etc. and this is really easy! Not sticky at all as said in one of the reviews - maybe they got the ratio wrong - my dough was nice and dry and a cinch to roll! I added a bit of nutmeg too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I had the same problem with the dough turning into a gooey mess. I ended up adding more flour and powdered sugar to help get to a consistency I could work with. Then end result lived up to the name - hard as a bone! The taste left a lot to be desired. The ground cloves in the dough was too much even after all the extra flour. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States