Bones of the Dead Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My Sicilian Sister-in-law used to make these shaped in 'bone' shapes or fingers.....making them look like 'bones of the dead'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A little bland, but better with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemaking101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter and unfortunately we didn't care for these at all. They were very easy to make, but, a lot of wait time for the end result. I like the taste of cloves and thought the flavor profile of cloves and almond would be good together. The clove taste seemed overwhelming for our palate and left a lingering aftertaste. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but these just did not work out for me. I expected these to be light and melt on the tongue but they were the total opposite. They were so heavy, and the taste not something that I found appealing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The first time I made these I used Large eggs and my dough was very sticky and I had to add extra flour and sugar. The second time I used Medium eggs and the batter was much better. For those who have had trouble with sticky batter try using smaller eggs. I dust my cookies with powdered sugar when finished. They are great with coffee! I also want to note that there are several different versions of this cookie. Each version developed in different parts of Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silverwing05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Made this recipe with Spelt flour instead of all-purpose flour. Using spelt flour means increasing the amount used. I used 3 1/2 Cups. Overall, I loved how it turned out, however, wife felt it was a little dry and hard for her taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sadie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Okay, I thought my crazy gramma made up deadbones until I found this recipe! These are fantastic! I tripled the almond extract and added a tbsp of mexican vanilla to really vamp up the flavour, then dusted the finished cookies with powdered sugar and served them with a raspberry sauce for dipping. They were a real hit, everyone loved the morbid name. The only problem was the dough was really sticky, but I just coated the baking sheet and my hands with flour and it worked fine. I probably ended up kneading in an extra 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
After replacing the almond extract with 1 tsp of vanilla and a pinch of cinnamon, your Bones of the Dead are the closest things I've come to my Nonno's Ossi dei Morti, good job & thanks! [Random: I think it's funny how I was looking up Christmas Cookie Recipes and found this (for it being a cookie normally made in the Harvest/Halloween time of year)].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
i made them twice, and they are not sticky...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I had the same problem with the dough turning into a gooey mess. I ended up adding more flour and powdered sugar to help get to a consistency I could work with. Then end result lived up to the name - hard as a bone! The taste left a lot to be desired. The ground cloves in the dough was too much even after all the extra flour. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States