Boneless Garlic and Rosemary Rubbed Prime Rib with Red Wine Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I do NOT cook. I decided to take a chance and try it for my entire Christmas dinner. IT WAS FANTASTIC!! Followed directions EXACTLY as is (like I said, I don't cook) THANK YOU THANK YOU!! My family loved it and was thoroughly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wow! Absolutely delicious and easy to do! This was my first attempt at cooking a roast like this, and it was super yummy! I do recommend using a themometer to monitor the temperature of the roast, but I did cook mine for exactly 2.5 hours for an internal temp of 140. I also tented the roast after cooking letting it rest for a while before cutting. It was a picture perfect roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taramssip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It was very heavy on the garlic for my tastes, but other than that, it was very tasty! Prime Rib is such a good cut of meat, you almost can't go wrong. A few helpful suggestions: instead of salt, I used sea salt, and for cooking, I used the pure convection setting on my oven. If you have that option, cook at 425 for 20 minutes, and then 200 for 1.5 hours. If the roast was at room temperature when you started, that should be plenty of time to cook it to somewhere between medium rare and medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was ok. I like my mother-in-law's better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
The sauce was awesome ! Didn't add the mushrooms as most have lisTed. The outer crust came out delicious. The meat inside though..wish there was a way to add more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I tried this and my friend that doesn't like prime rib said it was the best steak she has ever had! It was a huge hit with the in laws and all the friends we had over. I will make this again for all special occasions. I did marinade it over night before cooking and put it on the smoker instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The sauce is very good. The roast was seasoned nicely but I had to adjust the cooking temp & time, 250 was too low. After 3 hours at 250 I had to bump up my temp to 375 for 30 min or so just to get my meat at 130 degrees and I was only cooking a 3 1/2 lb boneless rib roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I needed to change the recipe to eliminate the mushrooms (some of our guests did not care for mushrooms) and it did not work out for me. Also, the sauce turned out salty. The roast did cook perfectly and the instructions overall were great. I will try the recipe as originally advised the next time but I do have concerns about how to eliminate mushrooms and still get good results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
We have made it 4 times over the last few years and it is always great. The searing holds in the juices and the seasoning is simple, yet very, very good. It took a little over 3 hours to cook our 5 pound prime rib, so give yourself a few extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've never taken the time to write a review, but this one is WORTH it!! A+ recipe. The flavor was amazing and the sauce got 2 thumbs up from a real Frenchwoman. My kids thought it was better than Thanksgiving...we have a new favorite. The only thing I did differently was us a bone in roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States