Boneless Garlic and Rosemary Rubbed Prime Rib with Red Wine Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Upped the amounts significantly because my roast was more than 11 pounds. Also added thyme. Incredible taste. The sauce was average and probably wouldn't fool with it again but the beef was delicious and so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Looks fancy and tastes extremely expensive but is fairly easy to put on the table. I cut slits into my roast, put a sliver of garlic and a few leaves of rosemary into the slit instead of simply rubbing the outside of the roast. The flavor is much stronger than simply rubbing the top. I didn't mess with the mushroom sauce at all until the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I really wanted to impress my husband with a wonderful romantic dinner in our new home and this recipe did the trick. Two hints that really helped me, let the meat come up to room temp before you roast it just like the recipe says, and invest in thermometer, also let it rest for 15-30 minutes after you take it out of the oven, it will continue to cook...you really can't go wrong then. The ajus was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have made this the last two years for Christmas dinner. All the generations rave about it. Easy to make but you feel like you are eating the most elegant meal. Will make it evey year for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Followed recipe to the letter. Family complained that the meat was to cold even though i roasted it for the 21/2 hours. The flavor though was great!!! The sauce I didnt care for but everyone else really liked! I will make this again but I will cook it at a higher temp then the 250*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjucoder
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Oh my, am I happy. I had an approx. 2 lb single bone rib roast. Still made the entire sauce amount without scaling since I wanted sauce for not only the meat but mashed potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding. Oh MAN was this good. I did not understand the point of making the sauce after browning and then saving it for later, I just made the sauce after the meat was done and resting. Worked great and saves steps and items to cleanup. Also added some fresh thyme in addition to the rosemary. This is the way I want to cook this cut from now on, the entire roast was very uniformly cooked. PLUS that sauce is freaking delicious. Oh I used beef stock instead of chicken and cabernet sauvignon for the wine. Sensational thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We made this for Christmas, and it was a hit! I was nervous as it was my first time making a prime rib, but it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is excellent! Just made it again and one of my guests commented they would never order Prime Rib from a restaurant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DML0322

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was easily the best gravey I have ever made. The roast was flavorful and a big hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was one of the best recipes I've tried in the past year. The meat was tender and cooked to perfection. My only suggestion is to adjust your cooking times a little bit. This was a great changed from the tradition turkey dinner for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States