Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This ham was absolutely scruptious! I work in an assisted living facility, and prepared this ham for our annual holiday potluck. EVERYONE raved about it, and many are still asking me for the recipe. This makes a very tender, tasty ham. I will never make a ham without beer again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I prepared this Ham for a holiday potluck and got huge raves from all our guests. They were amazed when I told them it was cooked with beer. The meat was tender, falling off the bone, and very tasty. I plan to prepare this Ham for my family this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I cooked this ham for twelve people for a christmas/engagement dinner. I had never had such a reaction to one of my meals...RAVE REVIEWS! I made a ten lb. ham with three cans of micro beer and added potatoes, celery, and onions to cook (and serve on the side) in the beer/ pineapple juice. I am going to make this recipe every time i make a ham! MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is a great way to cook ham! It turned out moist and tasting great! It didnt taste like beer at all if you're worried about using beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I USED THIS HAM RECIPE CHRISTMAS EVE. EVERYONE LOVED IT. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I HAVE BEEN ASKED FOR THE RECIPE BY MANY. I WILL USE THIS RECIPE FOR HAM COOKING EVERY TIME. VERY TASTY & JUICY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Easy and delicious. I've never cooked a ham that was this moist and tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
The beer took away the wonderful taste of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Excellent!! I was a little reluctant to put pineapples, and being the doe-doe that I am, I bought crushed pinapple instead of sliced, but I'm glad I did, they worked out just as well because I basted every so often. I used Sam Adams Summer Ale (yum) put it on the grill and it came out great. Family loved it, thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made this w/ a spiral ham, and it was DELICIOUS! I've never had such a tender, juicy ham. I used Alaskan Smoked Porter, which was a perfect compliment. I also used a glaze (I wasn't completely convinced that just the beer & pineapple give enough flavor) of 1 cup honey, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup of pineapple juice, and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I brushed on the mixture every 15-20 minutes, and removed the cover at the end to carmelize the glaze. The drippings even made a delicious gravy! Everyone loved it... from now on, I will always cook my ham in beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Quite tasty, though if I make it again, I will use a premium beer. I added some brown sugar to the top of the ham near the end of its baking time and I'm glad I did. Also basted about every 1/2 hour. Carrots and potatoes baked with the ham turned out good. My husband had seconds and said it was "great". Leftovers tasted good and were good in casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States