Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Usually every T-giving we have ham left over till we're sick of it and throw it out. Not this yr.!!! This ham turned out very tender and tasted WONDERFUL! Don't let the beer in the recepe fool ya, you'll never taste it. Try it, you'll be cooking it yr. after yr.; I knoe I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was very very tasty. However I dont think that it takes as long to cook as the time calls for. I had to actually take it out early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I always heard that meats are more tender cooked in beer, but I never thought about using it for ham. Our ham was so tender and just fell apart! Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This was a good recipe but I couldn't taste the beer or the sweetness from the pineapple. I used a 6.5lb ham and left it in the oven for almost 3 hours. Way too long, the internal temperature was a lot higher than what it should be, which resulted in the ham being a bit dry. Next time I will baste it every 30 minutes and use a meat thermometer so I can take it out when it's at 160-170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This made the most flavorful ham I've ever had. I used the suggestion of a honey/brown sugar glaze and carmelized it at the end. The ham was so tender it just fell apart. My family wants me to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Quite tasty, though if I make it again, I will use a premium beer. I added some brown sugar to the top of the ham near the end of its baking time and I'm glad I did. Also basted about every 1/2 hour. Carrots and potatoes baked with the ham turned out good. My husband had seconds and said it was "great". Leftovers tasted good and were good in casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made this w/ a spiral ham, and it was DELICIOUS! I've never had such a tender, juicy ham. I used Alaskan Smoked Porter, which was a perfect compliment. I also used a glaze (I wasn't completely convinced that just the beer & pineapple give enough flavor) of 1 cup honey, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup of pineapple juice, and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I brushed on the mixture every 15-20 minutes, and removed the cover at the end to carmelize the glaze. The drippings even made a delicious gravy! Everyone loved it... from now on, I will always cook my ham in beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Excellent!! I was a little reluctant to put pineapples, and being the doe-doe that I am, I bought crushed pinapple instead of sliced, but I'm glad I did, they worked out just as well because I basted every so often. I used Sam Adams Summer Ale (yum) put it on the grill and it came out great. Family loved it, thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
The beer took away the wonderful taste of the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Easy and delicious. I've never cooked a ham that was this moist and tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States