Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This moist and tender ham could not be easier! I used a large, turkey-size oven bag, two bottles of Yuengling, and almost a full can of pineapple slices. Everyone remarked that they'd never eaten such a moist ham. After slicing it, I combined about 1/2 C each of honey, butter, and orange juice and added about 1 tsp. cinnamon, brought to a boil, and poured over the sliced ham. I reheated gently, and it did ont dry out at all. Delicious! I will use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this for Christmas with mixed reviews. While it was moist, most people did not care for the taste and the gravy from the drippings was not good at all. I will go back to my old way of baking a ham. Oh well nothing ventured nothing gained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Had this on Christmas Eve - loved it! I'm going to make it again for a New Year's Eve dinner. Never had a ham so flavorfull and fork-tender! I don't expect I will have any leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
As a first time Christmas Dinner host to 15 people and a lover of beer I had to give this recipe a go! Absolutely without a doubt the most delicious ham ever! I basted every hour and used Otter Creek Copper Ale (you can find in New England primarily) as it's a robust ale and is perfect to drink while cooking! Fabulous, I will never forget this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountsnowfish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was EXCELLENT...I halved the recipe and inserted cloves into the ham before baking. I cooked it at 300 for about 4 hours....it was so tender and was literally falling apart...I used a 9.5 lb ham...HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I normally don't really care for ham, but this was awesome! I used a 7.27 lb. brown sugar cured bone-in ham. Dumped 1 can of beer on it put on an 8 oz. can of pineapple rings and dumped that juice on it too. I baked it for about 2 1/2 hours (I turned to oven up to 350 for the last 1/2 hour). I basted it about 5 times while cooking and let it rest for about 15 minutes before carving. This is by far the best ham I ever made and have probably ever tasted! I was so moist and tender. I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Usually every T-giving we have ham left over till we're sick of it and throw it out. Not this yr.!!! This ham turned out very tender and tasted WONDERFUL! Don't let the beer in the recepe fool ya, you'll never taste it. Try it, you'll be cooking it yr. after yr.; I knoe I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was very very tasty. However I dont think that it takes as long to cook as the time calls for. I had to actually take it out early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I always heard that meats are more tender cooked in beer, but I never thought about using it for ham. Our ham was so tender and just fell apart! Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This was a good recipe but I couldn't taste the beer or the sweetness from the pineapple. I used a 6.5lb ham and left it in the oven for almost 3 hours. Way too long, the internal temperature was a lot higher than what it should be, which resulted in the ham being a bit dry. Next time I will baste it every 30 minutes and use a meat thermometer so I can take it out when it's at 160-170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States