Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Granted, I probably should not have used an already cooked ham, but the taste of the beer plus the pineapple was not to my liking. I would rather just have a regular ham boiled in water or a brown sugar baked ham. I thought something different would be good but just smelling the pineapple and beer together made me queasy. Sorry, it's not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by statikradio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I didn't have a 10lb ham so here's what you should do instead: -1 can of beer, not 2. You'll have too much juice from the ham and beer -DON'T add in the pineapple juice and rings if you want to be able to make gravy, it will be too sweet -If you want to cook this over night set the oven at 250 degrees for 7 hours -After that, if you want a glaze, take out the juice for the gravy, brush on a glaze of your choice, turn oven higher to 350 and cook for 10-15 minutes. You'll have an AWESOME ham. Great recipe. -Also DO NOT use aluminum foil to cover your ham. The salt in the ham will corrode the aluminum while it cooks, though you can still eat it safely, it's just a pain to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Okay, I had a 7.5 lb spiral cut, bone-in half ham, (harwood smoked, fully cooked). I utilized fresh pineapple (was on sale). Due to weight difference from recipe; used 1 bottle of Honey wheat beer. Toothpicked on pineapple rings, poured beer (and juice from cutting pineapple) over all. Covered w/HD foil (roaster lid wouldn't fit) and baked at 300 for 3 hours. I lightly sprinkled some of the packet of brn sugar glaze on top (that came w/ham) after 2nd hour but I won't do that again (pineapple adds enough sweetness). I like a little sweet but not overbearing. When I had to turn oven up to 350 for rolls, I uncovered ham, removed pineapple (and 4 cups of excess liquid!), basted ham and baked additional 15 minutes to carmelize a bit. Once out of oven - I let ham sit for 15 minutes (loosely covered) while rolls baked off. Sliced enough ham (for dinner of 4) and it was EXCELLENT. Didn't taste or smell like beer, was moist/tender & not salty at all. I may have gotten all the excess liquid due to type of Ham or baking tightly covered? Thankfully it didn't negatively effect end results but next time I'll loosely cover, baste every 30 mins & bake 15 min per lb @325. I think the addition of beer kept ham very moist. If you end up with dry ham, most likely it got overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Used a smoked porter and it was wonderful! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used a Stout beer, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Rave reviews from everyone! All (and I mean ALL) said it was the best ham they had ever eaten... I served 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tenderbelle61
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very tender and good, but not as flavorful as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
It tasted great. Surprising that it didnt have much beer taste at all. Love it. I also added a touch of honey, orange juice and some spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had a precooked spiral cut ham and tried this. I used a rack underneath the ham and poured 2 cans beer in the pan. Put aluminum foil over all and crimped the aluminum foil to the edges of the pan. I only cooked it for 4 hours and the ham was dry and overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Petrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States