Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I tried the beer glazed ham, but with a 12.6 lb bone-in ham. I made the glaze by reducing 2 bottles of homemade porter with a little brown sugar and a little honey, plus about 3 T. plum butter (plum preserves). I just simmered the glaze while the ham baked (aerobake) at 320 degrees F. (since I wanted to boil off the alcohol so I could use the remaining glaze as a sauce). I added some water to the pan (kept ham above the pan, on a rack) and glazed every half hour, baking the ham for about 3 hours (internal probe read 155 degrees F). The glaze blackened nicely, and the ham was juicy and tender. Lovely. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy, no raves from tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is my go to recipe for ham. I made my first ham 2 years ago and everyone loved it! I also used a turkey bag to keep it moist throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Amazing!! our new recipe for bone in ham!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Used a 7.5 lb ham with 8 oz can pineapple and 1 bottle beer. Cooked at 325 for 2 hours 15 minutes came out perfect. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I had never cooked a ham before so this was my first try. I was really intimidated by such a big peice of meat! I am not a huge fan of glazed hams so I was looking for something more subtle. My ham was big, probably 12 pounds, it took about 7 hours to reach the desired temp. I just plopped it in my large cast iron skillet & made a foil tent. Because my ham was bone in with *LOTS* of fat, my ham turned out super juicy and tender! No beer taste whatsoever. I made it for sandwiches for a fishing trip for the weekend but as soon as it came out of the oven we kept picking at it. I served my hot ham & swiss sandwiches on good french bread with Southern Potato Salad from AR. Perfect! I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We're trying to cut down on our sugar so this was a great find! I had an 8 lb pre-cooked spiral sliced ham. I followed the recipe using 1 bottle of lager beer. It cooked for 2 hours, covered with foil. The whole family loved it and had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
20lb ham. I may have overcooked a little but it ended up being about 5 hours. I cooked in a turkey bag coated bag with 1 T flour (to prevent bursting) and poured 2 bottles of honey weiss beer. The ham was sooooo good. Next time I'll check thermometer more often to prevent over-cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! My husband isn't a big fan of ham and he insisted that I make this at least once a month. The ham was so tender and flavourful. The leftovers were fantastic and tender too, even after reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this for Christmas and it was outstanding and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States