Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
@jhp - Definitely not fair to evaluate this recipe for a spiral cut. That's not what this was intended to cook. I find that spiral cut ham is practically designed to be dry - a very different method is required. This was simple, delicious, and well-timed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was great! I used a 13.25 half shank bone-in ham. I used a roasting bag as well. I embellished by rubbing honey mustard on the outside of the ham. I used a 20 ounce can of pineapple rings, one bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale, diced up 5 red potatoes and 2 onions, placed all of it in the roasting bag and baked at 325 degrees for 3 hours! Literally fell off the bone. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was great I used an internal meat themometer and it was juicy the next 4 days. Loved it and no beer taste. Whole family and inlaws loved it! I did use a 11 lbs ham and one can of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
cooked for dinner. only had a 10lb ham. Used the 2 cans of beer I think 1 would have been fine. Everyone liked it, was moist and tender. Will cook again. I only cooked the ham for about 1 1/2 hours as the ham said maybe could have gone a few minutes longer. but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was a decent ham, but I'm more looking forward to using the leftovers for salads and sandwiches because it was a little bland as a main course. It definitely needs a mustard sauce or something with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Followed recipe as written and will NEVER cook ham any other way ever again. So easy, so tasty I was sceptical at first but this is by far the easiest and best way to cook a ham I have ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Over here, across the state line in MN, I wouldn't have guessed that cooking a bone-in ham in beer would be either a particularly good, or bad, idea. Personally, I would've gone with neutral, at best. I was wrong. I used two cans of beer and a can of mandarin oranges because I didn't have any canned pineapple. That had to be the least dry ham I've ever made! And I didn't go crazy basting it either. I think I might've basted it 3 times total in the 2 1/2 hours it was in the 250° oven. (9lb. spiral cut ham from Aldi) Thanks LBMQH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I didn't make this necessarily as per the recipe, but as a base although my creation came out superb! I used a 6lb. (3kg-ish) boneless toupee-style ham (otherwise known as a spiral ham I believe; it's smoked) so I only needed to cook this at most for 3.5 hours. I lined a roasting pan (with lid) with aluminum foil (I seriously rec'd a disposable pan though). I lay this cut-side down (non-rind side). I made a paste with my homemade bbq/meat seasoning, Dijon mustard and pure grade b (medium) maple syrup. I poured a can of Dr. Pepper and a can of some sort of honey beer over it. Covered (though not completely as the the ham was a little too high to 'seal' the roaster) and let it cook at 325F for 3 hours. As some of the heat/liquid escaped, this allowed the 'sauce' to thicken. Last half hour removed the lid then when done let it rest, while brushing it with the remaining concentrated liquid. Removed netting/plastic-y thingy then cut to serve. This is delicious, not too sweet or too savoury- the right balance of the two. This will be our ham recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! This is the best Ham that I have ever made, (and better that most I have tasted). It was so tasty & so tender. Will be making again. Loved freezing and having it days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States