Bonbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
The bonbons were good. My friends liked them alot, although I find them too sweet. I only used less than 3/4 cups of confectioners' sugar, if not, it would have been way too sweet. I added a little more walnuts too, since I like a nuttier flavor. And I would suggest melting at least 400-500g of chocolate. I did not prepare enough and had to rummage my cupboards for leftover pieces of couverture. Ended up having an assortment of bonbons, which wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe is very easy to make and tastes like See's Candy! I use Black walnuts with Black Walnut flavoring, Rum, Maple, and Brandy flavors with pecans and walnuts. I also use 1/4 block of parafin in the chocolate to make them more firm and keeps them from melting in your hands. YOu can also cover candied cherries with the fondant then dip in the chocolate. Try them! You will love them. People go nuts over them when given as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
the bon bons turned out great. I put the mixture in the fridge overnight. the balls rolled out perfect. I put tooth picks in them before they went into the freezer. I loved the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
These are nummy!! I also used 3/4 cup sugar. I used ground pecans and two boxes of Bakers semisweet squares. I had no problems with the dough, as I left it in the fridge overnight. I would next time roll them into "marble sized" balls. I think this would make it easier to dip. Don't have the whole batch out of the freezer when dipping. They melt fast and don't stay on the toothpick. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are awesome! I used real butter and didn't add the nuts. Also, I ended up using 2 bags of chocolate chips for coating. Very rich, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
So delicious. I ran out of chocolate as well, so instead of using another bag of semisweet chips, I used 12 oz. of white almond bark melted with the 2 Tbsp. shortening. White bonbons are delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
These bonbons taste terrific! They were a little bit messy to make, but it was worth it! I suggest adding a little strawberry or orange extract and possibly some food coloring to "kick them up a knotch"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
so delicious! just like my mother's tasted... maybe a little better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Good but VERY sweet. I make them every year during the holidays to give as gifts and the reaction is either love 'em or hate 'em. If you like rich desserts & coconut and chocolate these are bound to be a favorite. Also, it makes a nice big batch which is perfect for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Fabulous recipe - I gave it four stars because you DEFINITELY need two bags of chocolate chips, as one really isn't enough. I mixed the margarine, condensed milk, vanilla and confectioners sugar together, then split the mixture into two bowls. To one I added finely chopped dates, maple extract and rum. To the other I added orange zest, orange extract and crushed vanilla wafers. I laid pairs of pecans, set side by side, on wax-paper covered cookie sheets, and set the balls of chilled filling on top of the nuts. The orange ones were covered (drizzle with a spoon, don't dip) in white chocolate, the rum maple with dark chocolate. Everyone said they tasted like fancy store truffles! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter-Pretzel Bonbons

See how to make delectable bonbons.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States