Bonbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
These bonbons taste terrific! They were a little bit messy to make, but it was worth it! I suggest adding a little strawberry or orange extract and possibly some food coloring to "kick them up a knotch"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I WAS TRYING TO FIND A RECIPE FOR THIS. WHEN I WENT TO WEBSTER FLEA MARKET IN FLORIDA THEY HAD HOME MADE THERE AND I HAVE BEEN WANTING THIS RECIPE THANKS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe is very easy to make and tastes like See's Candy! I use Black walnuts with Black Walnut flavoring, Rum, Maple, and Brandy flavors with pecans and walnuts. I also use 1/4 block of parafin in the chocolate to make them more firm and keeps them from melting in your hands. YOu can also cover candied cherries with the fondant then dip in the chocolate. Try them! You will love them. People go nuts over them when given as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are awesome! I used real butter and didn't add the nuts. Also, I ended up using 2 bags of chocolate chips for coating. Very rich, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
A little sweet, but worth the treat! A hit at my daughter's Baptism party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Good but VERY sweet. I make them every year during the holidays to give as gifts and the reaction is either love 'em or hate 'em. If you like rich desserts & coconut and chocolate these are bound to be a favorite. Also, it makes a nice big batch which is perfect for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These would have been PERFECT...if the filling was a bit more firm. I have made them several times and they end up being patties instead of balls because the filling just isn't as firm as I would like. They are also kind of hard to keep together when dipping in chocolate as well. However, once they are finished, the taste is sensational and everyone raves over them! They are truly a rich delight for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
the bon bons turned out great. I put the mixture in the fridge overnight. the balls rolled out perfect. I put tooth picks in them before they went into the freezer. I loved the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
The bonbons were good. My friends liked them alot, although I find them too sweet. I only used less than 3/4 cups of confectioners' sugar, if not, it would have been way too sweet. I added a little more walnuts too, since I like a nuttier flavor. And I would suggest melting at least 400-500g of chocolate. I did not prepare enough and had to rummage my cupboards for leftover pieces of couverture. Ended up having an assortment of bonbons, which wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
These are nummy!! I also used 3/4 cup sugar. I used ground pecans and two boxes of Bakers semisweet squares. I had no problems with the dough, as I left it in the fridge overnight. I would next time roll them into "marble sized" balls. I think this would make it easier to dip. Don't have the whole batch out of the freezer when dipping. They melt fast and don't stay on the toothpick. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter-Pretzel Bonbons

See how to make delectable bonbons.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States