Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I had to add more coconut to thicken it up. Taste a lot like Mounds candy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This made a huge batch. Next time I wouldn't use the full amount of condensed milk, it was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
The flavor of these bon bons was good. However, I had to add extra powdered sugar and an awful lot of extra coconut (a little more than half of another 14 oz. bag) to get close to having a doughy enough consistency to form balls. The first batch still spread so much that I just refrigerated the whole mix and formed the balls AFTER the dough had been chilled for two hours. Also, this makes a HUGE batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I had been searching for some time for a recipie for coconut candy when I finally found this. I have since made them twice. However, I used almonds the second time instead of walnuts and what a difference it made. They tasted like Almond Joys. This is a great great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Best thing that I have ever had keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
sticky and messy while making, far too sweet for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These bon bons were good, but like some other people thought, they tasted a little too sweet. They did make a huge batch (like other people said) and we didn't use it all. Also, I had a lot of trouble trying to dip the dough into the chocolate. I was trying to use a toothpick/spoon/knife and finally gave up and stuck my hands into the chocolate. It became really messy. They didn't really look too nice in the end. Plus, after sitting on the counter for a few minutes they started to soften. I had to keep putting them into the fridge. Thank you, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made these for xmas one year. My dad (who is diabetic) started getting into them, so I took them to work. Needless to say, they were gone VERY quickly, and now they are a yearly staple - if I don't make them, I get threats to my life :) They do make ALOT, but if you keep them frozen and relatively small, they can be extremely addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My family has been making these for years at Christmas time. They are fabulous and an absolute must for coconut lovers! Refrigerate the mixture BEFORE making balls. Also, a 1 inch ball is really big and I can see why some thought them too sweet or rich. Mine are a fraction smaller. Once rolled to desired size, FREEZE the balls for dipping. Makes the process much easier. You don't want the chocolate too warm as it will coat the coconut balls thinly. A thicker coating is better tasting. Also, these freeze wonderfully! They are delightful right from the freezer too! And yes, the batch is quite large...perfect for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used to make these with my granny when I was a little girl (except she always used a little paraffin wax instead of shortening), and our family still gets requests from friends and family year after year. A couple of tips we have learned over the years: make sure to refrigerate the dough for an hour or two - this will make them easier to roll into balls. Using a little butter on your hands makes less of a mess as well. Be careful not to roll them too big because they will become very large after dipping and thus are just too sweet. Also, after rolling, freeze the balls overnight and dip them in the chocolate the next day, taking a little at a time out of the freezer. We never store the finished bon bons in the refrigerator because they tend to "sweat" after you remove them. Delicious and addicting! If you follow these tips, I promise that you will be hooked and make them year after year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States