Bombay to Bangkok Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've made this twice now. Really I just use it as a reminder of the order of things. Usually I melt some coconut oil, saute onion, garlic and ginger in it, dumping in the curry powder, coriander/cumin, mustard seeds and extra tumeric. Then I'll add whatever kind of potato I have, some cut up carrots, cauliflower and garbanzos. I love either green beans or peas (or both) in this too. About 2 cups of veg stock boiled till carrots are done, add the beans cook a little longer til the desired "bite". Lastly turn to low and add 1-2 cans coconut milk. I have to admit I like it creamy so 2 is better to me. I'll probably end up adding more curry powder because I like it spicier than everyone else in my fam. And garlic salt. Everything is better w garlic salt. I never have lime leaves, dont add sugar, and if Im lucky I may have tofu in the house. It is still wonderful. Always serve with jasmine rice. I've gotta learn to make naan sometime. That would be the icing on the proverbial cake. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Didn't have tofu so used chick peas. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
all around great taste! not a big fan of spicy or citrus so omitted the spice, lime and extract cause I didn't have any and added zucchini instead of eggplant. I would have given 5 stars but it wasn't as creamy as I would have preferred. serve over rice and naan on the side. thanx for a keeper :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was amazing!!!!! I used 3 sweet potatoes and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Ciechanowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This sounded great but was way to sweet! Stick with coconut milk not coconut cream. Used a lot more curry since we like it spicy. Flavor profile is good & mix of veggies is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I left out the tofu and added broccoli, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperDad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent Recipe. I took 1 star off because the recipe calls for coconut milk, and really it should have been cream because there is a lot of stock in the pot. I usually make more of an Indian curry but wanted a change and this recipe was it! The kaffir lime leaves really hit the spot! Slight modifications: 1 tsp of yellow curry, added zucchini but left out the peas and coconut flakes (I am the only one who likes them but I cook for three), added 1 package of simulated chicken. My partner said it was too soupy...and he's right, although it still tasted great. I will definitely make this again but next time with coconut cream! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Excellent. I used some Coco Rico coconut flavored soda in place of some of the vegetable stock. I have a vietnamese neighbor who uses this in all of her curries, and she is a fabulous cook. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Good recipe, but I had to put much more curry, soy sauce and chili sauce to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States