Bombay Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
The chicken didn't have much curry flavor, but the rice was amazing. I used mixed raisins as the dried fruit and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This wonderful dish got 5 stars from everyone in a very picky family! The flavor was superb and it couldn't have been easier to prepare. I was a little confused on the addition of the curry powder though. The ingredients called for 4 tsps of curry, divided, but it didn't tell where to put the divisions in the recipe. I decided to put 2 tsp in with the rice and 2 tsps in with the butter mixture. Think I must have done it right because it was delish!! Oh, it only took 45 minutes to cook instead of an hour. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
very good taste. I used basmati rice, the smell is irreplaceable! Thanks for posting Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I did this recipe a little different. I cooked it as a rice side dish. First, I melted 2 tablespoons of butter into a skillet and added 1/2 cup onions, then added a small box of rasins after a few minutes and continued cooking and stiring for another minute. Next, I added one cup of cooked rice mixed ingredients and one more tablespoon of butter. I mixed it until melted, then added sugar, salt, curry powder paprika, and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (for spice). I continued to cook and stir for a few minutes more. Recipe turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgit1880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I cut this in half and used two small boneless skinless chicken breasts to serve two. For the dried fruit I used apricots. Wonderful! I will be making this over and over again! Edited to add: I've since found that this is even better with boneless skinless thighs. The thighs are more moist than the breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I also found as someone else mentioned that the chicken was a little on the bland side, if I were to make it again I think perhaps it would be best to rub the chicken and leave for the spice to permeate. I myself and DH really liked the rice and I liked the addition of the fruit (although DH said hold it on the fruit - he has a choc bar and fizzy drink for breakfast so no need to take his advise) my only moan, I am on a roll, why stop now? That a little more rice is required for our family at least another 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
My wife said this tasted much like the Indian food she ate when in London...high praise for the recipe. Maybe it's an exaggeration, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was absolutely delish. I followed the entire recipe but I did add some minced garlic, cinnamon, and bay leaves. I also did rub the butter mixture onto the chicken. I used wings. The rice was terrific. I served it for dinner this evening and my entire family loved it. My mother in law asked for the recipe before she left and plans on making this dish next Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is one of the best Indian recipes out there! You get great Indian flavor but it's easy, and leaves your house smelling wonderful. I agree with the rest of the reviewers who said it only needed 45 minutes to cook. For the dried fruit I used a mix that I got in the bulk food section of my grocery store--it had raisins, cranberries, dried pineapple and dried mango. Those fruit flavors were delicious in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
It's a good idea, baking rice with the chicken this way, but this recipe was quite bland and plain. It definately needs more seasoning and not just heat. I will be making this again, but I think I'll use my favorite seasonings with it (maybe cajun, or dry salad dressing mix) in the rice and on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States