Bombay Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The recipe should read: "In a 9x13 inch baking pan, mix rice, fruit, onion, sugar, salt, and HALF OF THE CURRY POWDER." We love this recipe! We use boneless, skinless chicken thighs and put peas and raisins in the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The rice was great, just make sure you use the correct amount of liquids. Mine came out a bit undercooked. The butters/spice spread on the chicken needs to be under the skin, otherwise there will be no taste. I would go as far as marinating it before hand. Overall, I wouldn't repeat this one, but it was a good quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This dish had a decent flavor. I added a quarter of a teaspoon of powdered garlic. I also used a very mild curry powder. It really was delicious and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I was very disappointed in this recipe. We found it very dry. I love curry so the next time I try it I will make more sauce and pour it over the chicken before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a great easy meal! I added a sliced rib of celery to the rice/onion mixture. In the last 5 minutes I added 1 green apple chopped. I doubled the rice and it was fabulous! Any recipe is a winner to me if the kids and hubby request it again, which they did! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is sooo good. I give it four stars only though, because if you cook the chicken according to the directions, it turns out too tough. I cooked this tonight, but put the chicken in the crock pot with some butter and curry for about 2 hours first. Then I laid it on the rice and cooked according to the instructions. Me and my husband love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was so easy & delicious. I used 2 cups of rice & 2 cups of water cause my family loves rice. I added dried cranberry & raisins for the dried fruit. You must try this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a great recipe. I had to cut the ingredients in half, all except the rice mixture as I was using 2 boneless breasts, I cut these into strips and placed them on top like it called for. This was a wow dish and will definitely use this again. Am already giving out the recipe. Only one problem, divide the curry powder and do whaat with it. I used half of it in the rice mixture, suppose that was the only place to divide it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Chiken was bland the rice was ok. It was not as exotic as I thought it would be. As an improvement to the recipe I will probably add cashews & chicken stock(instead of water) to the rice with dried fruit to accompany spicy curry chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
The best thing about this recipe is that it is so easy to make - throw in oven and leave! I added green & red peppers, tomato and spinach. It was ok - smelled better than it tasted but kids ate it up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States