Bombay Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful dish for guests or dinner for your family. I added a little mango chutney and some brown sugar to the melted butter and spices. Served it with Tzatziki and more mango chutney on the side. I will make this again....very nice dish for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Kristy doesn't like. I give it four stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great dish and easy to throw together. Just use less water if you dont like mushy rice. Chicken has its own juices so there is no need for 2 cups of water. Try 1 1/2 cups of water or take the foil off 20 min before completion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is a great dish. Very much like a Thai curry rice dish that is made at a local Thai restaurant. I altered my recipe to be more Thai-like in taste to mimic the restaurant's and turned out perfect. First of all, I browned the chicken in garlic and vegetable oil and curry powders (lots of curry powder as many reviewed the chicken to be bland)- browning all sides. I also used chicken thighs because I love the skin of the chicken. I also used chicken stock instead of water. Added cashews along with a dried raisin/cranberries combo, twice the amount of curry powder indicated and more onions (probably a 1/3 more than indicated) to pack more of a punch. I would also suggest trying pineapple- not even dried one, just the one from the can is terrific. Next time I will try a seafood version of this with scallops, mussels and shrimp. Was delish and tasted SO similar to the restaurant's. A big hit at out home! Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This has a lot of potential, but cooking as the recipe states leaves a bit to be desired. The cooking time will always depend on the oven, some cook to hot, others not, and cooking for 45 minutes ended up with perfectly cooked chicken (after letting rest for 6 or 7 minutes under foil on a cutting board). Next, the addition of mixed fruit added some great flavors, but it also can add the taste of preservatives (some people can taste it, like me) and it almost ruins the entire dish. So next time I'm going to avoid the Sunmade Mixed Fruit, because they were the culprits (I also used a pack of Welches Mixed Fruit, and they don't have the foul taste as much). Your safest bet is to use raisins as some people mentioned. Finally, the chicken left a bit to be desired, as it had very little flavor. Next time I may brine it, or use one of the various Tandoori marinades that are on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
so so. I tried it with the chicken broth instead and the salt and pepper on the chicken. It wasn't bad but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was the best dish I've found so far! It was so easy to make and most ingredients were on hand. The only changes I made was using boneless skinless chicken thighs and 1/2 tsp onion powder in place of fresh onion since husband does like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This dish was excellent! I had to add 1/2 cup more water to the dish because currently staying in a high altitude region, also I added a dash of nutmeg, cinnimon, and a dash of lemon pwder. to increase the smell and taste of this wonderful dish !! We Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Unbelievably easy to make! Great recipe- few ingreds, very little effort, great flavor. This will become a new staple at my house! Prep time is really more like 5 mins and waiting on the oven to heat. I used a trail mix with banana chips and nuts I had around. Didn't bother removing the nuts, and it turned out to be an excellent addition. I salt and peppered the chicken before brushing heavily with the butter mixture. Chicken needs a heavy coating of the butter/spice mixture, make extra if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
my husband is japanese and he was so excited when he ate this it tastes jsut like his mom used to make in japan. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States