Bombay Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I followed some other suggestions and cut up 4 small chicken breasts sprinkled them with 1 tsp of curry powder and browned them in oil and minced garlic for a couple of minutes. I also added some chicken bouillon to the water and put some canned crushed pineapple on top of the rice instead of the dried fruit. It was delicious but only served 3 people, next time I would add at least another 1/2 cup of rice and another cup of chicken broth. It was delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I only had golden raisins available for the rice. The flavor with the curry was ok, but pretty strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My family is not into new things, but this dish is great. We used apricots as the dried fruit; we found them to be too sweet but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent dish! The instructions were a little off - the curry powder was supposed to be divided, but it didn't say divided on what. So, I took the liberty to first double the amount of rice, use thighs instead and sprinkled about 1 tsp of curry powder on the rice. It made the rice look a very pretty yellow! I would probably double that next time and use chicken broth instead of water. Overall a tasty and very pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. I improved upon it, however, by doing the following: In a 3 gallon stock pot (not a 9X13 baking dish), I added the following items, in addition to the original ingredients: -For the "mixed fruit," I added 6oz. of solely dried cranberries. -Instead of plain water, I added the equivalent in chicken stock. -About 1/3cup of Merlot wine. -Two cups of celery. -About one cup of sliced, white mushrooms. -About 4 tablespoons peanut oil. -One clove of garlic. For the butter/spice mix I also added: -About a teaspoon of basil. -About a teaspoon of oregano. -About a teaspoon of cinnamon. The end resulted in a medley of flavors and textures that your palate will demand you make again! I hope others enjoy this edition as much as I did. Thank you ChristyJ for the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Loved! I did double the curry and used chicken stock instead of water. I used 2 tsp hot curry powder and 6 tsp reg curry powder. It was a great compliment to the sweetness of the rice. I not only dressed the chicken with the spice mix I also injected the chicken. If you use brown rice, parboil it for 15 mins before adding the rest of the ingredients. It adds a nice nuttiness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The chicken was very moist! The sweetness of the fruit complemented well with the curry. Everyone at dinner enjoyed it. We used chicken thighs, and the skin had great flavor from the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this a four because the family said it was good but, I haven't tasted it yet. Having leftovers for dinner. Will change my review according to my taste. But, I'm sure I will love it. Additional comment. I thought it was good too so I am changing my rating to five stars. I used chicken broth instead of water.12/10/13-making again. This time Browning breasts in curried butter mix. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My husband and I loved how moist the chicken was, and he liked the fact that it wasn't in your face curry flavor. The rice didn't wow, on the other hand. I found it a little less than cooked and lacking in a strong flavor of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I gave this a 1 just because you have to rate. But I would not make this again. My husband and kids didn't like it and I doubled the recipe thinking to have left overs for dinner too. If you are not a fan of curry powder don't even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States