Bolognese with Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I did not make the noodles. I bought hand made noodles from the store. I followed the sauce recipe but added a little more garlic powder (about 1/2 tablespoon more) and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKAKISH
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
add a pork chop for extra flavor and 1 TBSP beef boullion to kick up a notch!!! This sauce ws delicios and easy to make and only improves with time and cook for several hours, adding water as needed. Its fabulously authentic Italian Bol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I have never made Bolognese Sauce before. I made it last night and we really loved it. I usually do not make changes to a new recipe, but I did add 1 tsp. of Basil and 1 tsp. of fennel seed. My husband tried the noodle recipe, but ran into some trouble with dryness. He will try again and watch the amount of flour going into the noodles. All and all we loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I'm normally a baker and not a cook. I was proud of myself. I only made the bolognese sauce, not the pasta, but I'll be making it again! And again... and probably again. I only used 28 oz of the crushed tomatoes and subbed a 14 oz can of diced, seasoned tomatoes. I probably could have let it reduce for another twenty minutes but the parm at the end held it together pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I prepared this for dinner tonight and thought it was excellent. I used 2 28-oz. cans of San Marzano so reduced the water to one cup. Didn't make homemade noodles but used Penne pasta. It is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I have to agree, this is bland. Two cups of water? I was kicking myself for adding it at the end. I've tried spicing it up with tomato paste, a little red wine and red pepper flakes. It will never be as good as a jar of Rao's so that's frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyrobinm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Maybe I don't know what a Bolognese sauce is supposed to taste like, but I thought this tasted kind of watery even after substituting tomato sauce for most of the water. It is also a little heavy on the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love Bolognese but the real stuff is sort of a lot of work. Thought I'd try a quickie, but it was only OK. First of all, unless you love oregano, don't even think of using a whole tablespoon. I used 2 teaspoons and it still overpowered the sauce. Because of that, I can't really tell you how it would taste. Could have used a little more salt as well - basically flat. Easy though. So cut the oregano and add a little more salt! Maybe it might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I watched the video before making. I was confused because the recipe in the video was different. The video called for 2 carrots and 1/2 cup of water instead of 1 carrot and 2 cups of water. I added 1 carrot and 1/2 cup of water and all the other ingredients as stated. I simmered the sauce for 3 hours with lid on. The sauce had the proper consistancy so did not add more water. I precooked 16 oz of penne as shown. My wife slowly added the required cup of parmesan cheese to 4 cups of sauce; stirring constantly while slowly adding. The cheese formed a solid mass in the sauce and finally had to be extracted and given to the dog. The 4 cups of sauce was not nearly enough to cover the 16 oz of Penne so the remainder of the sauce was added. It also failed to adequately cover the Penne. The tomatoes failed to blend with the meat to produce a rich tomato base. It tasted OK but was nothing special and I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patricia Hinkel
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yes I made the Bolognese sauce and thought it was wonderful. I added 3 T. sugar to the sauce. I will make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Hinkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States