Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is a very good recipe for bolognese sauce. Of course, as with most recipes, a little tweaking made it superb. I also fried the bacon first, then removed it from the pan and fried my onion, celery and shredded carrot in the bacon fat. When they were soft, I added the pork, beef and garlic. Then I followed it exactly as it was. I remember watching Emeril on the Food Network and he always fried his "mirepoix" (celery, onion and carrots) when he made his sauces and it really made the flavour much better. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I have made it a number of times both for my family and for dinner parties. I have gotten rave reviews each time I have made it, and there is rarely any left. Even my picky husband loves it. I brown the bacon first and then remove the bacon from the pan leaving the grease behind to saute the onions in. I found that when cooking the bacon and onions together, as suggested in the recipe, the bacon never really browns and is kind of soggy and rubbery from all the liquid the onions create while cooking. I also double the amount of tomato sauce for a little runnier sauce. I cook the sauce in a crockpot on low setting for the afternoon instead of in a saucepan on the stove. Great recipe, we really love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is just your basic, everyday bolognese sauce. I only see one problem with this recipe... dried herbs. If you're going to use herbs, do it right and use fresh. They have about five times more flavor than their dried brethren and they don't stay in your spice rack for five-six years at a stretch. I would probably also triple the amount of garlic in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
AWESOME & DIVINE!!! I am bad about not following a recipe.......the only change I made with this GREAT recipe was the substitution of sliced/chopped Prosciutto Ham instead of the bacon...less grease and personal favor. I topped the finished pasta bowls with grated Asiago Cheese. I had guest over and they flipped!!!! Thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was really good spaghetti sauce. I am unable to follow recipe directions without changing a few things, so this is what I did. I used 3 oz of pancetta in place of the bacon and I used 4 cloves of roughly chopped garlic. I sauteed the pancetta along with the olive oil until crispy and then I removed it from the pan. Then I added the onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Once soft, I added the mushrooms and about 5 minutes later, I added the meat. I cooked this until the meat was cooked through, then added the pancetta back to the pan. I added 400 ml of tomato sauce and a large can of San Marzano plum tomatoes along with the wine and broth. I cooked this for about an hour and a half and added about 1/3 cup of ketchup (you'd be surprised how many professional chef's rely on ketchup to make a classic bolognese taste 'complete'). The end result was really delicious spaghetti sauce that I won't hesitate to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
Excellent! Wonderful flavors! I made a double batch and I'm glad I did; it will be well worth pulling from the freezer when needed. I did make a few changes that all worked tastily: Cooking the bacon first was a great idea; thanks APRILSNYDER. I used both white Spanish onion and red onion; sautéed until well caramelized. I substituted sweet Italian pork sausage for the ground pork; yum. I doubled the amount of celery and next time I'll also halve the carrots and chop them and the onions more finely. IMPORTANT NOTE: The recipe calls for a 6oz. can of tomato sauce - but tomato sauce comes in 8oz. cans, I believe the author meant tomato paste which is used to thicken sauces and comes on 6oz. cans. Fantastic - don't forget the fresh grated Parmesan and a sprig of fresh basil for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
since my italian told me that the real bolognese sauce call out for chicken liver. i personally dont like the chicken liver but i was try to put it once , i have Salsiccia (italian sausage) left in my refrigerator so i throw it in too. The chicken liver is worth it , i make the sauce taste different in a good way ! it was really nice. u never taste any yucky of the liver. Now i beleive y my friends told me , i'll taste the different way of the bolognese sauce. since then i put chicken liver in it everytime. i hope this help ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZAHIRU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
To make the bacon more palatable...take the bacon, onion, carrots, & garlic and olive oil and put them in a food processor and grind them up into a paste. Then carmelize this mixture. I also agree that it needs the tomato paste and a quart size can of tomato sauce. When I make this recipe, my family says that this is the best I have ever made...and I am Italian and have been making wonderful spaghetti sauce for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
My family truly enjoyed this sauce. It is rich and flavorful. It is very authentic. I did add quite a bit more tomato sauce, wine, and chicken stock than it called for.I also increased the simmer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Thanks so much for this recipe, Kimber! This sauce is excellent and I only made minor changes. I cooked the bacon seperately as suggested by another reviewer so that it would crisp up nicely, added 6 oz. of tomato paste and I chopped the carrots intead of shredding them. My husband and I devoured our plates, and there is plenty left over. Very hearty and full of flavor. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States