Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Not very much flavor at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious! But takes a good 2 hours to complete. Could use another clove or 2 of garlic. Also sauce might be better a little thicker - add half and half?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
3.5 if you will. This was a meaty dish. I had no problems with it being runny. As mentioned, I think the tomato sauce was meant to be tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was my first attempt to make a homemade sauce and it turned out well. The flavor was incredible! All of my friends raved about it but the consistency was a bit runny for me. I think my problem was I used a can of diced tomatoes (without draining) and I would probably try pureed next time for more of a sauce and not soup texture. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautycake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This sauce was tasty, however, if I were to make it again I would omit the mushrooms and dice the carrots. Having shredded carrots was distracting to the eye and not something you normally see in sauce. The mushrooms are also not something you usually find in Bologese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
this is a hallmark recipe: it is easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This recipe is easy and has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I really liked this recipe; it was very simple to make and yielded quite a bit. I wanted it a little more "saucy" so I added an extra can of crushed tomatoes and a can of tomato paste. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My husband wants me to memorize this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe. Next time I think I'll add some parmesan. It was a bit on the acidic side, but still very delicious. I also browned the bacon first, then cooked the onion, carrot and celery in the bacon grease. Then added the meat and garlic and followed the recipe. I also substituted crushed tomatoes, b/c my husband doesn't like chunks of tomato in his sauce. My 11 month old couldn't eat this fast enough. My husband and 4 year old liked it too. I really liked the subtle wine flavor. I'm sure it will taste even better on day 2...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States