Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is a very good recipe. Loved the celery in it. I doubled the recipe, tweeked it to my taste by adding 5 fresh red chili peppers, 1/2 tsp dried chili flakes and a bit of tomatoe paste. It was really really good! The white wine threw me, but I stayed the course and am so glad I did. My additions were just about the spice level, that's it! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was the first time I made a Bolognese but it came out perfect. I didn't use the bacon...(I didn't have any) So I sauteed the veggies in tbsp of olive oil and a tbsp of butter. I added tbsp of sugar to cut the acidity and I used beef broth instead of chicken. It was a hit my daughter and husband loved it, she asked for it for lunch and dinner the next day. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLJohnson87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My favorite recipe from this site so far!!! I took the advice of others and fried the bacon first then sauted the onion, garlic, carrots and celery in the bacon grease...Great recipe..LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Not worth the work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Brilliant! Everyone loves this and I will continue to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
ehh.. not worth it.. pretty bland some how, for my liking... especially for all the calories.. and fat etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onion61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! I had to use mild Italian pork sausage as opposed to just straight pork sausage out of necessity, and I followed others suggestions and did the bacon first, then sauteed all the veggies in the drippings and used 6 oz tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. Still, even with these minor changes I would have never accomplished this without your original recipe. Thank you so much Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. It makes a generous amount. The bacon adds a special flavor. I will probably use more the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Lathrop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States