Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this yesterday for a dinner and there wasn't any left. Needless to say I think it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
TEN STARS! MUST FOLLOW RECIPE EXACTLY AND COOK LOW AND SLOW AND REDUCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
To be honest it was just alright. It smelled divine while it was cooking though. I doubled the spices and the garlic as advised by other reviewers, but that didn't add as much flavour as I would have liked. To me it's a pretty average meat sauce, nothing to write home about flavour-wise. I had to add a bunch of cheese to add some zing to it, as it really seemed like it was missing something. I should add that it did taste better a couple of days later (still had to add cheese for make it yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Fussy husband called it 'restaurant quality' and entire family agreed. I omitted mushrooms and instead of l lb. of beef and 1/2 lb. of pork, I added only 1/2 lb beef and 1 lb. ground Italian sausage (1/2 hot and 1/2 sweet). Definitely a keeper recipe and will be making for dinner parties as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Blended it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this sauce, the only complaints I got were that the wine taste was very strong. I didn't think so, but I suppose I could have let it simmer a while longer. My advice: Prep in advance and let it simmer until dinner. It took me a little longer than the estimate time, but I loved it. Will be making again for the roommates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I add some Herbes de Provence and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Domingue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING!!! I took the advice of another review and cooked the bacon then removed it. I then made the "mirepoix" (shredded carrots, chopped celery and onion) cooking it in the bacon fat. When they were soft I then added the garlic, pork and beef, chicken broth and RED wine. When the meat started browning I added the oregano (from the sprig) and the basil. This was the most wonderful Bolognese sauce!!! I served rice pasta with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is just delicious. A bit of a pain in the butt, but totally worth it. I used to just "wing it" when making bolognese, but not anymore-- this will be my go-to recipe from now on! I made a couple changes based on what I had - didn't have any mushrooms so I substituted diced green and red bell pepper, and I also didn't have any ground pork so it was all beef. And it still turned out fabulous!! Next time I will fry my bacon alone first, as other reviewers suggested, so it can get nice and crispy -- I couldn't get it crisped up enough with such a large amount of finely minced onion (I made a double batch, so it was a LOT of onion!). Oh, and I agree with another reviewer in thinking that the recipe must mean to call for tomato paste, not sauce, as sauce is not available in 6oz. cans. I initially added just the equivalent amount of sauce, but it didn't look quite right (too watery) so I added 2 cans of paste to the doubled recipe and it thickened up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice recipe! I made it per the recipe and it came out pretty well. I did substitute red wine for white because I only had red, and added some extra onions and celery because I had no carrots. If I make it again, I will add a wee bit of sugar, a pinch of cayenne, and an extra clove of garlic, but otherwise this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States