Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is actually not a "true" bolognese sauce. This is a very good and fancy spaghetti sauce. Real bolognese sauce does not contain garlic, dried herbs, or tomatoes. But does contain milk and wine. It also does not have bacon, but does have pancetta and prosciutto. This recipe is the generic bolognese, which we here in the US call a meat sauce. For an authentic bolognese recipe google "bolognese sauce Oretta Zanini De Vita".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I have made this more than once, not using pork, just ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Made it exactly according to the recipe except I used 1 pound of beef and 1 pound of pork. Also, I used fresh basil and two more ounces of tomato sauce making one cup. Family absolutely loved it for Mother's Day. This is the second time I've made it and it was terrific. Way better than just some spaghetti sauce out of the canned mixed with some ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So delicious! The flavors in this sauce are amazing! I didn't change the recipe at all. It just makes my recipes taste more gourmet and flavorful. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made it exactly as stated and my Italian Husband (a true New York Italian) loved it! Better than his mother's, aunt's and grandmother's recipe. Also works great in a lasagna. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawndambrosio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
The absolute best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Sauce was excellent but, next time I will add more to make the sauce more "wet" it was too thick. I wound up adding it to a lasagna I made...wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Came out delicious. I added some ground red peppers, sprinkled some Lawries Seasoning in the sauce, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Yum! My husband can't stop raving about this sauce. The only changes I made was to use plum tomatoes from the garden instead of canned, omitted the pork and used 1/2 the ground beef. Just enough meat to add substance and extra flavor. Doubled the recipe and froze a few quarts for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States