Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My Mother always made this for our school lunches and now I make it but I add salt,pepper,onion,and sweet pickle relish. I don't measure anything I have made it for so long that I just guess. I also grind everything with a food grinder. Love It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
YUMMY! This is almost exactly what my grammy made for me as a kid. The only thing I changed was I added a bit of mustard. And dill pickles, not sweet. I didn't really go by the measurements just kind of made as much as I need for that day and mix it until it "looks good". I love these so much I had to have them at my wedding! I bet this had to be the oddest request a wedding caterer ever had for a finger food buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I think this is the kind of recipe that appeals mostly to those who have grown up eating it. My mom made this dish often when we were little and occasionally she would switch it up a bit by chopping the bologna and eggs, adding minced onion and mixing it with an oil and vinegar dressing. My grandfather was a butcher so we always had good German bologna in the house. If you're lucky enough to have a German butcher store in your area, I'd suggest going for the couple of extra bucks instead of using bologna from the grocery store. Haven't had this in years and I must say, it brought back a lot of memories. Thanks so much Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Maybe it was the brand of bologna that I used but the spread turned out to be not quite as good as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Surprisingly good. I used dill pickles instead of sweet (personal preference. I didn't measure anything I just threw enough together to make a nice snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I enjoyed this as a quick lunch with my Magic Bullet! This recipe can be changed in so many ways with anything that you like in a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made this early this morning and whirred it in my food processor before letting it set in the fridge. The only changes I made was using dill pickles instead of sweet and I added a quarter of a chunked yellow onion, fresh garlic and a little fresh ground pepper. The bologna I used was bought at my local deli counter. I'll update my review once we've had some for lunch. EDITED: Good, though I think it needs a little mustard. Not much, a tablespoon or so. Adding the onions and garlic was a smart move. We all liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Just like Mom used to make. I substituted ham for the bologna and used Miracle Whip instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a childhood favorite of mine. We always used Miracle Whip instead of real Mayo but substituting ham for bologna makes it ham salad not bologna salad. Not the same thing! I've tried making it without the sweet pickles and it just doesn't have the same zing. Now I'm wishing I had bologna in the house :\ lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made a quarter batch, and should get at least two sandwiches from it! I followed the proportions and it was a quick dinner for the late time I was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States