Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
My mother used to make this for us, for sandwiches. Instead of salad dressing, she used mayo & mixed everything up the same. I, also, have been feeding this to my family for years. It's just so good & great on crackers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I grew up with this stuff! Though for some strange reason, we called it ham salad and not a touch of ham in sight! My mother and grandmother (and me) use sweet gherkin pickles and a bit of onion in addition to the remaining ingredients. My own sons love it and it disappears whenever I get the urge to make it! Which just might have to be now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Our entire family enjoys this reipe! I like the amount of eggs give (I could never get it right before!) And I like the information on how to boil the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Oh wow! I thought my grandmother was the only one to make this stuff. If my dad and I are visiting at the same time, you'll always find one of us sneaking to the kitchen to get a bit of it. I've tried to duplicate it but still have never gotten it right. She uses Miracle Whip thinned with a teeny bit of milk, and just chops up sweet pickles while processing the bologna and eggs. I have a container of it in my fridge right now. This may sound strange, but the best way to eat this in a sandwich is with a few potato chips right in there with the bologna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I am not a kid but am a kid a heart and i really like Bologna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrueTexas
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I've made this before but my recipe called for cheese, too. I was looking for something similar when I found this one. So, I added the cheese. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
My mom always made this recipe, but we called it "ham salad". Didn't use eggs, but I might try this next time! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is very similar to what I love to eat in Germany when I visit family. It's a popular spread for the hard rolls called Fleischsalat (meat salad). Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Detjen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I grew up in Iowa and we called this Ham Salad. It is the best and I still make to this day!Great on crackers or those pretzel chips! Yum-O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This stuff is Awesome! My grandmother used to make it all the time. She always added Onion and about 2 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter (weird I know). Also she used regular mayo instead of the salad dressing. It was always a Family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berlinetta37303

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States