Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
My mother used to make this for us, for sandwiches. Instead of salad dressing, she used mayo & mixed everything up the same. I, also, have been feeding this to my family for years. It's just so good & great on crackers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Our entire family enjoys this reipe! I like the amount of eggs give (I could never get it right before!) And I like the information on how to boil the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Oh wow! I thought my grandmother was the only one to make this stuff. If my dad and I are visiting at the same time, you'll always find one of us sneaking to the kitchen to get a bit of it. I've tried to duplicate it but still have never gotten it right. She uses Miracle Whip thinned with a teeny bit of milk, and just chops up sweet pickles while processing the bologna and eggs. I have a container of it in my fridge right now. This may sound strange, but the best way to eat this in a sandwich is with a few potato chips right in there with the bologna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I grew up with this stuff! Though for some strange reason, we called it ham salad and not a touch of ham in sight! My mother and grandmother (and me) use sweet gherkin pickles and a bit of onion in addition to the remaining ingredients. My own sons love it and it disappears whenever I get the urge to make it! Which just might have to be now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I think Dutchgirl missed it. The recipe says "with desired amount of creamy salad dressing and desired amount of sweet pickle relish". It doesn't say add the whole jar! We prefer Miracle Whip dressing. This, too, is one of my favorites my mom made in the 50's, and my kids and grandkids love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My grandma used to make this several times a year by the buckets full! It never lasted because we ate it all in a short amount of time. Don't use the sliced bologna. Use a ring bologna that isn't pickled. I use mayo and mix half with sweet relish and the other half with dill. I don't bother with the eggs. That's too much. Sandwich spread should be simple. Just the three ingredients and it's perfect! Slice eggs on your individual sandwich with mustard but you wouldn't put bologna on an egg salad sandwich would you? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is one of my most favorite comfort foods from childhood. Grandma used to make this with Canadian bologna (there's nothing like Canadian bologna, I've never found anything like it here in the States), her own chicken's eggs, Best Foods mayo and her own homemade hot pickles. She also added a couple shakes of pepper. I make it pretty much the same way only with the store deli bologna and zesty pickles. I really like it spread on saltines but it's pretty much good on anything. It's really simple to make and it stretches quite well for those on a budget but need cold lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was lured in by the childhood nostalgia factor here and ended up regretting it. The recipe didn't work on several levels. For us, there was too much relish - it almost added a bitter edge to the flavor even without using an entire cup. We also didn't use anywhere near 16 ounces of salad dressing, probably less that half that amount, and we still found it a little too much. This seemed to leave a bad aftertaste as well. This isn't horrible, but if this were on a buffet table, it's the kind of thing you'd try on a cracker and think, "well, that was kind of funky" and then you'd move on to the thousand other things that taste better than this. Sorry, but this is one that I just can't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This stuff is the best!! Reminds me of growing up as a kid, although we get the thicker bologna and julienne it instead of turning everything smooth. Good as just a salad that way really, overall it's pretty darn good! Very similar to what the local deli makes, which I used to buy before finding this recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Yum! I'd never heard of bologna salad until I saw it for sale at a lunch counter. They were out that day, so I decided to find a recipe. Very yummy! I scaled it down for one person, which by the recipe's servings is 12...very odd. I rough chopped instead of grinding. I also chopped a dill pickle spear instead of using sweet relish because I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States