Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Yum! I'd never heard of bologna salad until I saw it for sale at a lunch counter. They were out that day, so I decided to find a recipe. Very yummy! I scaled it down for one person, which by the recipe's servings is 12...very odd. I rough chopped instead of grinding. I also chopped a dill pickle spear instead of using sweet relish because I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Good Sandwich Spread.. Thought there was a little to much pickle relish. Next time will try 1/2 cup or 2/3 cup... or possibly drain the juice better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My grandma used to make this several times a year by the buckets full! It never lasted because we ate it all in a short amount of time. Don't use the sliced bologna. Use a ring bologna that isn't pickled. I use mayo and mix half with sweet relish and the other half with dill. I don't bother with the eggs. That's too much. Sandwich spread should be simple. Just the three ingredients and it's perfect! Slice eggs on your individual sandwich with mustard but you wouldn't put bologna on an egg salad sandwich would you? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This stuff is Awesome! My grandmother used to make it all the time. She always added Onion and about 2 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter (weird I know). Also she used regular mayo instead of the salad dressing. It was always a Family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berlinetta37303

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
DD loves bologna and eggs so this was right up his alley. I used mayo instead of the salad dressing and added in a few seasonings. Thanks Kumla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I grew up in Iowa and we called this Ham Salad. It is the best and I still make to this day!Great on crackers or those pretzel chips! Yum-O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is very similar to what I love to eat in Germany when I visit family. It's a popular spread for the hard rolls called Fleischsalat (meat salad). Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Detjen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
My mom always made this recipe, but we called it "ham salad". Didn't use eggs, but I might try this next time! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I make this all of the time...but no salad dressing, eggs or relish. To get the best taste, use real mayo, sweet baby pickles and some onion. If you need to give a little sweeter flavor, add a little pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This stuff is the best!! Reminds me of growing up as a kid, although we get the thicker bologna and julienne it instead of turning everything smooth. Good as just a salad that way really, overall it's pretty darn good! Very similar to what the local deli makes, which I used to buy before finding this recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States