Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is exactly like sandwich spread you would get from you grocery deli. I buy 2in thick cut bologna from the deli and then grind it in my meat grinder. Add mayo and sweet relish and it is delish! Sometimes i add a pinch of sugar to even out the saltiness. 1 cup sweet relish is way too much, I just eye everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It's a classic! I used all the same ingredients and followed your reccomendation of adding for taste. I didn't have a meat grinder either, so I used my quickchef. I think an electric blender would work too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is one of my most favorite comfort foods from childhood. Grandma used to make this with Canadian bologna (there's nothing like Canadian bologna, I've never found anything like it here in the States), her own chicken's eggs, Best Foods mayo and her own homemade hot pickles. She also added a couple shakes of pepper. I make it pretty much the same way only with the store deli bologna and zesty pickles. I really like it spread on saltines but it's pretty much good on anything. It's really simple to make and it stretches quite well for those on a budget but need cold lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was lured in by the childhood nostalgia factor here and ended up regretting it. The recipe didn't work on several levels. For us, there was too much relish - it almost added a bitter edge to the flavor even without using an entire cup. We also didn't use anywhere near 16 ounces of salad dressing, probably less that half that amount, and we still found it a little too much. This seemed to leave a bad aftertaste as well. This isn't horrible, but if this were on a buffet table, it's the kind of thing you'd try on a cracker and think, "well, that was kind of funky" and then you'd move on to the thousand other things that taste better than this. Sorry, but this is one that I just can't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My mother made this for us growing up, and I still make today. We grind the balogna, add the eggs, diced celery, diced onion and sweet relish and miracle whip. Can't get any better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Like every one else my Mother and Grandmother made this all the time to feed men who came to help on the farm. Everyone who worked for my Dad would ask if there were going to be ham salad sandwiches for afternoon coffe. We also called it ham salad and I don't know why. Thank you so much for reminding me of that great time and the recipe is just like theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is definitely one of my families favorites -- every summer family gathering we would have this. And as one review wrote --add the potato chips onto the sandwich. Thank you for posting it. One note, if you don't have a meat grinder, my sister used a shredder (we buy the bologna in a chunk) and it worked really well). At our recent family reunion, it was gone like the wind. Love the hard boiled egg method-- will definitely try it and make pickled eggs with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My family is from Indiana and we made this "ham salad" at least once a month. It was my job to run the big block of bologna through the hand-cranked meat grinder. I buy my bologna at the deli counter and grind it myself with a grinder I recently found on eBay. Delicious for snacking and lunch boxes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My mom made this when I was growing up. She didn't put eggs in it, but addedd shredded cheddar cheese. We always loved it. She said it was a cheaper version of ham salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Yum! I'd never heard of bologna salad until I saw it for sale at a lunch counter. They were out that day, so I decided to find a recipe. Very yummy! I scaled it down for one person, which by the recipe's servings is 12...very odd. I rough chopped instead of grinding. I also chopped a dill pickle spear instead of using sweet relish because I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States