Bolivian Saltenas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good, so much work! I'm beat! I added diced jalapeños, wish I added more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I'm from Bolivia and there a few restaurants which sell these here. I decided to make my own however, I have no idea why I opted out to try this recipe rather the more authentic ones from my Bolivian cookbooks. Anyhow, these turned out quite bland and unfortunately rather dry, not to mention time consuming. So I was left with a whole lot of something no one in my family was looking forward to eating. We did though for the sake of not wasting and it is edible. The dough was quite similar to the ones of hot pockets, so if I ever want to make my own... Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
need more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briarhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Worth making: filling flavor is excellent, but the dough lacks the soft springiness of restaurant saltenas. True saltenas when eaten piping hot drip with sauce -- that's the need for the gelatin, to make filling the rolled dough easier with cooled, gelatinous sauced meat filling. I tried 14 oz jalapeno sauce, but still not as juicy as the real thing. Next time I will put egg in the dough. Still, these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loudwaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I also used the dough disks from the store, big time saver. However I found the saltenas were dry as the doug absorbed the gravy, I found if I coated the inside with the egg wash it sealed the dough disk and made the saltena much jucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I had never made anything like this before, but my son requested it. They were fantastic! The dough for the bread is delicious - a little bit of sweetness to it. The only changes I made were to use Grillers, a meatless substitute for the ground beef. The filling is so flavorful, we didn't miss the meat at all. I also added a little garlic, and my family doesn't like olives (although I love them), so I omitted them. To speed things up a bit, I used shredded frozen hash brown potatoes, and these worked great. Those two substitutions did make the cooking go more quickly. We served them with a fruity salsa, a nice compliment to the flavors. Don't skip the egg wash either; the little pockets have a lovely shine and texture that you wouldn't get otherwise. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but the family asked me to put this in the regular rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
its great!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So happy to find this recipe! I was an exchange student in Bolivia many years ago and I've been looking for a saltena recipe ever since I left LaPaz. Can't wait to try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam7602

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My father was born in Bolivia, and his family ran a salteneria in La Paz when he was a teenager. I wanted to make my own saltenas, so I was happy to find this recipe. I was disapointed about how dry they came out, even following the directions to the letter. I'm wondering if I should not have drained the "excess grease" as the recipe calls for, and maybe left it in so it would make a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made these today for my husband, who worked in Bolivia years ago. Added 2 cloves of garlic and omitted the raisins. Next time will use stew meat diced finer. They were a hit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States