Boliche (Cuban Pot Roast) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I have been making a version of this all my life. Having grown up in Tampa, it was a staple for Sunday lunches or anytime during the week. The ONLY difference in this reciped and mine is that I use ham steak instead of chorizo. You just chop it up and stuff it in the roast like the chorizo. My grandma could not eat the spice chorizo and there was always leftover ham to use in this. For optimal flavor, marinate overnight. You can do it in three hours if you must but it is even better if you plan ahead and let it sit. WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made a few changes. No oregano. Rosemary and sage for the rub. Red wine rather than sherry No potatoes. I didn’t use too much olive oil for browning the roast. After bringing roast and liquid to boil on cooktop in cast iron pot, I put it in oven (covered) at 400°C for 30-45 minutes, basting every 15 minutes or so and then turned it down to 350°C for another 90 minutes. Let roast sit covered with foil for at least 20 minutes while you reduce the liquid. It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Amazing!!! I used ham instead of chorize, because of my kids and didn't have any potatoes, so I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch and served over rice. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Murr Moore
Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this with the Chorizo but my roast wasn't really thick enough to stuff the chorizo into the middle so I stuffed it in the crevices where I could. It was very yummy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kinney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the first time I cooked with Chorizo Sausage and cooking Sherry. It didn’t call for the baby carrots, but what pot roast is complete with them? This was amazing! I'll be keeping this one in the book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was pretty good, my wife didn't like it tho. I used all the ingredients the recipe called for, but after stuffing the roast with chorizo, and rubbing the spice paste, I threw everything, including the marinade, in the slow cooker, and cooked on low for 6 hours. The beef was tender and had a nice citrus flavor. I served it over rice, and poured the juice over it. I don't know if it would have been any better if I had seared it, and cooked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I've never liked Pot Roast, but this was delicious. I skipped all the marinate ingredients and bought "Mojo" sauce. (I live in Miami, it's a standard Hispanic marinate sold everywhere here). It has all the same ingredients and it's much easier to open a bottle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I changed up a little bit...I used an elk roast instead of beef and made it in a slow cooker. I marinaded the roast overnight. The meat was well flavored throughout (not just the outside) and plenty tender. Pleasant tangy flavor with a hint of sweetness. I will make it again. I think adding a little cumin, a pinch of red pepper (or a chopped jalapeno) and a little cilantro at the end could take this to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Kennedy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner, am late with the review, but everyone loved it and it made the house smell amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Paskind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States