Bolas de Mani (Peanut and Plantain Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It ended up being more like a bread pudding, but surprisingly not bad. I'm using a version of Malaysian plantains called pisang nangka. I think there may have been some residual water left from cooking the plantains which caused it to be more pudding like when baked. However, I started to think if you were to add cocoa powder and some other ingredients you could make an excellent vegan pudding. So there is hope with this, even if I may had added a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hancock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
When I made this recipe, I made the following changes: I pressure cooked my plantains for 3 minutes on high pressure with quick release. I used a large food processor to grind up the cooked plantains and combine them with the peanut butter. Recipe came out very well, and I will definitely make this again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added a little honey and some nutmeg.....very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very yummy - especially with fried egg. Not bland at all, although I only had 3 plantains on hand, so it was a bit more peanutty. Also, I used natural p.b. - half of which was a honey-roasted variety (so I didn't add honey) and neither kind I used was the type that separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I loved these! Very healthy and hearty way to start the morning. I made these exactly as directed, and sprinkled them with paprika (yes, weird I know) and ate them with scrambled eggs & chorizo in the morning). I used all natural peanut butter, it doesn't have added sugar to it so I wouldn't have to use these as a dessert because they weren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Theser are pretty good. Not sure how to rate, as I did change it up a bit based on reviews and what I had. I planned on using green plantains, but by the time I got around to making these my plantains were ripe, so I just decided to go with it anyway. I added some pumpkin pie spice and some honey, but I'm not sure I needed to. You don't really taste the peanut butter, but the plantains have sort of a tart taste that is really nice. These don't look that appetizing (you'll see from my picture!) but they are a nice little snack. I think that 45 min was a bit too long for mine--some are a bit dark on the bottom. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I like plantains so overall I enjoyed this and it was very easy to make. I thought adding the peanutbutter would help my husband enjoy them more and he still won't touch them. Make sure you mash the plantains really well so the balls stick together. I didn't have any honey and he suggested(after they were in the oven) to use pancake syrup to sweeten them up a bit. I did sprinkle them with cinnamon before baking. If you like plantains but don't want to fry them then give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Made it as a dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled honey sauce on top (1c honey, 1/2c maple syrup, 1/4c butter, 1/2tsp gr cinnamon, dash of gr nutmeg, heated over medium in a sauce pan until melted through.) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I found the recipe very band. The texture was also not particularly appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army Wife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Interesting recipe! I changed it due to things I had at home and made a smaller recipe, but enjoyed the end result. I used 1 ripe plantain - steamed it rather than boiled it, used 1/4 c. natural peanut butter, and added 1/8 c. honey, 1/4 t. salt, and about a tablespoon of the "steaming" liquid. Made about 12. It bakes up very nicely and makes a great "energy" snack. The first time I made it I didn't use honey and I thought it was a little bland - adding the honey the second time made a big difference! Thanks for the idea!!! Just wanted to add that I baked the balls for 25-30 minutes because I made mine smaller than the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

A refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or snack-time.

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States