Bolas de Mani (Peanut and Plantain Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It ended up being more like a bread pudding, but surprisingly not bad. I'm using a version of Malaysian plantains called pisang nangka. I think there may have been some residual water left from cooking the plantains which caused it to be more pudding like when baked. However, I started to think if you were to add cocoa powder and some other ingredients you could make an excellent vegan pudding. So there is hope with this, even if I may had added a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Hancock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
When I made this recipe, I made the following changes: I pressure cooked my plantains for 3 minutes on high pressure with quick release. I used a large food processor to grind up the cooked plantains and combine them with the peanut butter. Recipe came out very well, and I will definitely make this again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added a little honey and some nutmeg.....very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very yummy - especially with fried egg. Not bland at all, although I only had 3 plantains on hand, so it was a bit more peanutty. Also, I used natural p.b. - half of which was a honey-roasted variety (so I didn't add honey) and neither kind I used was the type that separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I loved these! Very healthy and hearty way to start the morning. I made these exactly as directed, and sprinkled them with paprika (yes, weird I know) and ate them with scrambled eggs & chorizo in the morning). I used all natural peanut butter, it doesn't have added sugar to it so I wouldn't have to use these as a dessert because they weren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Theser are pretty good. Not sure how to rate, as I did change it up a bit based on reviews and what I had. I planned on using green plantains, but by the time I got around to making these my plantains were ripe, so I just decided to go with it anyway. I added some pumpkin pie spice and some honey, but I'm not sure I needed to. You don't really taste the peanut butter, but the plantains have sort of a tart taste that is really nice. These don't look that appetizing (you'll see from my picture!) but they are a nice little snack. I think that 45 min was a bit too long for mine--some are a bit dark on the bottom. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I like plantains so overall I enjoyed this and it was very easy to make. I thought adding the peanutbutter would help my husband enjoy them more and he still won't touch them. Make sure you mash the plantains really well so the balls stick together. I didn't have any honey and he suggested(after they were in the oven) to use pancake syrup to sweeten them up a bit. I did sprinkle them with cinnamon before baking. If you like plantains but don't want to fry them then give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Made it as a dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled honey sauce on top (1c honey, 1/2c maple syrup, 1/4c butter, 1/2tsp gr cinnamon, dash of gr nutmeg, heated over medium in a sauce pan until melted through.) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I found the recipe very band. The texture was also not particularly appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army Wife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Interesting recipe! I changed it due to things I had at home and made a smaller recipe, but enjoyed the end result. I used 1 ripe plantain - steamed it rather than boiled it, used 1/4 c. natural peanut butter, and added 1/8 c. honey, 1/4 t. salt, and about a tablespoon of the "steaming" liquid. Made about 12. It bakes up very nicely and makes a great "energy" snack. The first time I made it I didn't use honey and I thought it was a little bland - adding the honey the second time made a big difference! Thanks for the idea!!! Just wanted to add that I baked the balls for 25-30 minutes because I made mine smaller than the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Meatballs

Find out how to make meatballs for appetizers, sandwiches, soups, and pasta.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States