Bok Choy Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Love the concept of healthy and creative! This is what interested me in this recipe. I was pleased with the it however, after following the directions my rice did not cook through. It has promise but, I think the time needs to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this last evening as a side for a pork stir fry. I followed the recipe but omitted the sambal as I didn't want it to compete with the flavors of the stir fry. This recipe is a good way to add extra fiber to the meal and dress up plain rice. The toasted sesame seeds complete the dish visually. As a Westerner who lived in Hong Kong, I couldn't bring myself to add the soy sauce to the uncooked rice. Soy sauce was on the table for those who wished to add it. Thanks for the idea Chef John, I'll add it to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was very good, and I'm glad to have another way to squeeze in healthy Bok Choy. I did use extra Soy Sauce and a dash more Spicy Thai Chili Sauce which was the closest I could find to chili-garlic sauce. I served it with Soy-Honey-Ginger broiled Salmon (from a cookbook, not from this site sorry!). I used Jasmine Rice instead of White Rice and the cooking time and water to rice ratios were tricky so I had to wing it and it still turned out very good. Thanks Chef John! Loved the video too. :-) See my photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This recipe was in my e-mail today. I was looking for a recipe for spinach. I substituted chicken broth for water. Added extra soy & extra garlic sauce. Used toasted sesame sauce. Not the seeds. Not a fan. I know that I'll get a lot of grief for a review with substitutions, but today there's sleet & ice outside so I'll settle for spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Mixed reviews from my kids and husband. Some loved and some thought okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Perfect compliment to an asian meal. Really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GretchynZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I added extra soy sauce but that was the only change I made. This is a very enjoyable and tasty side dish. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe was a surprise hit in my household. I didn't make enough. It was a very simple recipe that was super tasty and I was able to get the kids to eat more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I added more soy and chili sauce like other reviews recommended. It was awesome and totally hit the spot when I was craving cold Chinese food the next morning too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was very good and a nice change from the plain ole rice side. I found it needed at least twice the amount of soy sauce if not more. I probably ended up with almost a tablespoon in there and my husband was still reaching for the salt. It cooked up perfectly with the times stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States