Boiling Water Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have made this crust several times. I use it for home made chicken pot pies. It is really a great crust to use for this and my family loves it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angenette
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I also used butter instead of shortening and it still came out amazing-the taste that is. The texture on the other hand, not so great. I tried to work with it but very difficult to handle. Needs to be tweaked a bit. Maybe more water, i dont know but Im sure there are alot easier ones out there. Still on the hunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love this recipe. It was easy to make and was very tasty on my home made pot pies. Though I did use butter instead of shortening. But it was still very good! LOVE it!! I made three little pot pies with one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I am not an expert at crusts by any means. It's the one cooking/baking area that I am pretty weak in. This recipe is amazing once you get the method of handling this dough. I use it exclusively with the Chicken Pot Pie IX found on this site. The result is absolutely amazing. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe, it is fine as is. If you are using it immediately after mixing, be prepared to use more flour when you roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
great recipe!!! though kinda hard to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
never use again not my favourite pie crust ive used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
very simple recipe never thought i could make a pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I used butter and it turned out really good. My mother swears she can taste the baking powder but I think she is just biased and only likes her crust. I thought this crust turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Made this with the Chicken Pot Pie IX recipe and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
My first attempt at making homemade chicken pot pie worked thanks to this recipe and the Chicken Pot Pie IX recipe from this website! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States