Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this chili up the day before in crockpot, refrigerated over night and then put back on the heat the next day. We really enjoyed the chili and will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Love this chili. Make it just as it states minus celery and bacon bits. Makes a lot so I usually halve it if just for a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I gotta tell ya, this was just OK. Bad? No.. but I will admit I didn't use the ground sausage because I couldn't get it.. just used ground pork.. I think using the sausage would have made a VAST difference so please DO NOT substitute that. I was worried about how hot it would be, but I found myself adding more spice after it was done because it didn't have a whole lot of kick.. BUT again.. the sausage would have probably helped that. I will make again and do it with the sausage and then update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This chili was amazing! Used 3 cans of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans. Served over white rice with sour cream, chedder cheese, scallions and sliced avacado. This will be my go to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Lummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
It is an OK Chili, not very spicy or hot,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Delicious! Followed it as close as I do any recipe. I used fewer beans and held off on the Tabasco since it was already too spicy for my children. I loved all the flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Love this chili recipe. I did use only mild chili beans since I am a weeny when it comes to spicy foods. I topped it with sharp cheddar cheese and sour cream. This is now a staple recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this chili before and loved it. This time I tripled the batch so I could put some in the freezer and I also wanted to do a majority of the recipe can-free. My personal changes? 1) Rather than canned beans - dried beans soaked overnight and cooked the next day. 2) Rather than ground beef - an inexpensive cut of lean beef cubed. 3) Rather than bulk Italian Sausage – Chorizo (1lb for triple batch) and no Italian Sausage. 4) Rather than canned tomatoes – Tomatoes from the farmer blanched and skinned. I did use canned tomato paste. 5) Rather than canned green chile peppers – Anaheim chilies from the farmer grilled and skins removed. 6) No bacon bits. It is a bit more work to make it from fresh veggies but when you are making a batch this large it is worth the trouble for a healthier version (except for the Chorizo). It was considerably spicier this time, guessing it was from the Chorizo; I won’t do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
An excellent chili! A bit spicy for our tastes so just modified a bit to cut down on the spice. Love the use of fresh veggies and the mixture of the ground beef and Italian sausage. Good and hearty with lots of flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States