Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This turned out to be one of the worst chilis I've ever made.Overall, it was way too sweet for me. I have a sweet tooth, but I don't like super sweet chili. I would completely eliminate the sugar, even though it is very little. Also, ensure you don't get flavored chili beans that may have extra sugar. I used chunks of beef chuck instead of ground beef chuck (more because I did that with the last chili I made and it turned out amazing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim Arora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is awesome chili. It has a little heat, but not so much that a group of mixed company can't handle it. (Those who like it hotter can also add a bit of this or that to it.) Purdue may not be winning on the field, but they're winning at the tailgate. Well done! (On a side note, I made just a few changes...whole bottle of beer, ditched the green peppers, added ground chipotle chili peppers, added a dash of cinnamon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I accidentally brought this into work for a potluck and am stuck making it everytime! I change it up a bit switching meats for a variety of beef, chicken, turkey, bison and venison to change things up. I recommend adding half of the seasonings the first day, fridge overnight, reheat and taste and add accordingly to your group. I never add the beer and it still turns out good. BTW the better the ingredients the better the chili. Store brand products don't do this justice! I estimate about $50 a batch for the best ingredients. Thanks for sharing and forcing me to make it every few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Won a chili cook off with this recipe. My husband and I keep the seeds in the jalapeño and add more chili powder to make it a little bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Very good chili. Flavors complement each other, the kick is not too little, not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I love this chili. I didn't use any beer and its still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Best Chili we have ever made! didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I give this chili a 5 star! Loved it and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love trying new chili recipes and this did not disappoint. I substituted turkey in place of the beef and no one could tell the difference. There is just so much flavor here. I used a porter, a full bottle less a few drinks:) and added extra chili powder and hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I absolutely love chili of all kinds and I'd have to say this one is at the top. I prepared this for my family and particularly for my four year old son who asked me to make chili. After reading the recipe I thought it would be too spicy for the kidos. I cut the hot sauce out and replaced the can of spicy beans with regular beans and it wasn't too spicy at all. I also used elk hamburger rather than beef hamburger. After the changes the chili was still amazing!!!!! I will make this over and over again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States