Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is excellent (spicy) chili! I had to make a few changes, due to dietary needs. I used no green prpper, no green chilis and no beer. And it was still fabulous! If I was making this for myself, I'd have used everything but the kitchen curtains, but sometimes we are forced to be considerate of our fellow human beings. Thanks for posting MIGHTYPURDUE22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I started using recipe years ago! It's a staple in my house. It is by far the best chili EVER! We like heat so only change I make is leaving the seeds in the jalapeño! VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Pray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is awesome chili. My extended family always are asking me to make this. They are mostly IU fans, not my family all full Boilers, but they love this. I dont drink beer so I use a 1/2 liter of coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Smolen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
EXCELLENT!! Best chili my family has had!! I follow the recipe exactly, and it comes out perfect every time! My picky 4 year old LOVES it too!! This is actually the only chili he will eat, and will specifically ask me to make it. This chili is also great to make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The best chili I ever made and I was out of cumin. Warning, it is a little spicy. I did take a couple of suggestions and left out the celery, used 1 cup of beer, and I used 3 mild cans of chili beans and 1 spicy. I used a mixture of kidney and pinto beans, the recipe didn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is AWESOME chili ...I just made it tonight. I used stew meat instead of ground beef and went a little lighter on the ingredients that add the "Heat"but other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out FABULOUS! Hubby and guests loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Wow! I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and it was great. I did what other people suggested by making it the day before. I did not change anything other then leaving out the tabasco, as I was unsure how spicy this was. Turns out I could have added it and it would have been fine. Really, Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Best chili recipe I've found yet! Family loved it! Very flavorful, thick and had a kick to it! Here's what I did differently: I cooked the Italian spicy sausage on the stovetop, drained the grease from it then threw that and everything else in a crockpot, cooked on low overnight. Left out the bouillon cubes after seeing it's almost 900mg of salt per cube! Still tasted VERY, VERY GOOD! Added a full can of beer instead of a 1/2, used stew meat pieces instead of ground beef chuck, cut up 1 and 1/2 green cayenne peppers instead of 2 and didn't add the hot sauce for fear it would be too hot, but might have been fine. It turned out spicy, but not overly spicy so that you couldn't taste the flavors, it was the perfect amount of spice in my opinion. ( On a side note, wear GLOVES when handling the cayenne peppers! No joke, I didn't know you could burn your hands, found out the hard way, the rest of the night I was GOOGLING how to stop my hands from burning, it was awful, soaked my hands in everything and nothing stopped the burning.)It filled my large crockpot to the top, had lots of leftovers which was still very good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is the best chili I've ever had much less ever made. I used 1/2 lb of spicy chicken sausage instead of 1 lb regular sausage, Medium spicy chili beans instead of spicy, and real bacon instead of bacon bits. Other than that stayed pretty true to the recipe. My husband thought it could use a few more beans but I disagreed. It definitely had some spice but I can't take things above Medium spicy and I thought this was perfect and not overdone. Such a winner and definitely better a day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
The best & easiest chili! I followed recipe except for the huge cans of beans - making for two & it still makes a lot. I had to eliminate the hot seasonings. But good & easy...the best!!! Oh & I freeze some. I love this & have shared this recipe with friends & family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States