Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
4.5 stars. When people ask me for a good chili recipe, this is the one I refer them to (because they are not getting mine, lol) Very good balance of flavors that come together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I love this chili, my family loves this chili. I followed the recipe, minus the hot peppers and cayenne (small children in the house). I am making this for the 2nd time today. This is excellent as leftovers or made the day ahead. No need to freeze any because everyone wanted more when the leftovers were gone. Make it, you will not be sorry :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFChik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made it with Founders Porter instead of a lager, pilsner, or stout. We didn't have chili beans in my local grocery store - so we used the following: 2 cans light kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can pink beans. Slow cooked it - 3 hours on high. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS served with french bread for scooping and cheddar cheese and sour cream. Made a (mostly) vegetarian version for the (many) friends I had giving meat up for lent (still added bullion and Worchestershire and a dash of bacon bits, with everyone's approval) that was also really delicious - I posted the recipe as a variation on this one, with suggestions on how to match if the flavor if you want to go full veg. The recipe as is, sans additions like bread, corn chips, sour cream, or cheese has 11 WW points. Reducing the meat to leaner varieties only really saves you a point - however if you try the veggie variation I posted, it has only 8 WW points per serving! Tomorrow I am going to try it with italian flavored chicken sausage. Can't wait to see how it tastes, and if that goes well will swap out the beef chuck for lean ground beef on the next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was the best chili I've had in a long time. I even froze it and when it was reheated it was still delicious. Can't wait to try it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Make it all the time. Hubby says I need to cut the heat....NOT GONNA HAPPEN! Perfect just the way it is. Tried once replacing beef/sausage with chicken.....just as good. And it was just leftover from a store bought rotisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ramey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Worth the work. Excellent slow cooker recipe! This is a great chili recipe. It takes some time, but try browning the meat& onion and throwing it all in a slow cooker on low for 8hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
What can I say? Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Seriously one of the best chillis I have made! I left out the bell peppers because my husband doesn't like them but it kept me coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely love this Cili! I make it everytime people come over and they all love it. The boyfriend likes it spicy so I put in mild beans. Hot will kill me but this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
As is, this chili is a little too spicy for a family with young children. I cut paprika, cayenne, chili powder, and chili pepper in half and was still spicy, but not over the top so my children could eat it. After that, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States