Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My first batch of chili and my girlfriend was mad because she says it was better than hers and she's been cooking chili 20 years...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I add extra hot sauce. :) This is worth making! a little work but in the end the reward is in eating this yummy Chlli!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe! I did not change anything. Needless to say, it was a great success in my household! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have to do five stars because all four of my kids (age 5-14) loved it and went back for seconds!! This makes quite a lot, but all the better for a meal tonight and the second in the freezer--if it lasts that long. I used smoked paprika, and didn't have bacon bits so splashed a bit of liquid smoke. Didn't add spicy ingredients because I'm feeding children. (No cayenne, no spicy sauce chili beans just reg) Very nice! Didn't add sugar, but chopped one Bosc pear and can of corn for sweetness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I serve it at my restaurant in Tamarana, Brazil. Mods are: I use the locally grown red saddle beans, which are cooked from scratch. Just add two to three ours of cooking time, in low heat. We use tough and cheaper cuts of beef, but rich in gelatin and flavor, when cooked enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Just won the Chili Cookoff at work today with this recipe!! Only thing I did different was to use a bottom round roast instead of the ground beef. I braised the roast then put in the crockpot until tender. I cut it in small pieces and still used the ground sausage. Everything else was the same. Everyone loved it! I think it has the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JB
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious, easy to make and was quickly devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This chili is rather good. I don't know that it is the best chili I've ever had but it is right up there with the best I've ever made and I've experimented quite a bit. It would be very spicy if made as written. I cut down the spice by leaving out the Tabasco, using a can of medium beans and cutting the chili powder down to 3 tablespoons and it still had quite a kick. Other changes I made: 3 cans of total beans versus 4, real bacon instead of bits, the entire can of beer (just cuz it was too early to drink the rest) and for the meat I used, 1 lb of stew meat, 1 lb lean ground beef and 1 lb of chicken thighs (don't wrinkle your nose - it's good!). After browning and sautéing where appropriate, I simmered for 2 1/2 hours on the stove, poured into my slow cooker and refrigerated all night. I put the slow cooker on low heat about 6 hours before dinner the next day and like I said it was very good. I thought it was going to be too soupy and it could have been a little thicker but it was fine. Probably more of a 4 1/2 star but since I've eaten better chili, I can't give it 5. Next time I make this and I will, I will cut the cayenne back to 1/2 a teaspoon and add 14 ounces less tomatoes. Depending on the time I might take a couple swigs of the beer before I pour it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this last night & the whole family (husband+3children) LOVED it. Served it over Fritos. Only changes made were cutting out cayenne/hot pepper sauce/green chili peppers & used only regular chili beans (didn't want it too spicy) It came out excellent~will be using this from now on?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was an amazing recipe. I didn't use as much meat as suggested and I used a whole bottle of new castle beer. Came out absolutely perfect. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States