Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Melinda Beard
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I absolutely loved it! My children loved it! I didn't add the beer and I left the hot peppers out because of my children. It still has the hotness but it's not overwhelming. This was my first time making chilli and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Beard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This recipe is excellent as is, and is likely to require very little customization. Maybe adding a veggie, maybe a bit more spice, but is far superior to most other chili recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is excellent (spicy) chili! I had to make a few changes, due to dietary needs. I used no green prpper, no green chilis and no beer. And it was still fabulous! If I was making this for myself, I'd have used everything but the kitchen curtains, but sometimes we are forced to be considerate of our fellow human beings. Thanks for posting MIGHTYPURDUE22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I started using recipe years ago! It's a staple in my house. It is by far the best chili EVER! We like heat so only change I make is leaving the seeds in the jalapeño! VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Pray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is awesome chili. My extended family always are asking me to make this. They are mostly IU fans, not my family all full Boilers, but they love this. I dont drink beer so I use a 1/2 liter of coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Smolen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
EXCELLENT!! Best chili my family has had!! I follow the recipe exactly, and it comes out perfect every time! My picky 4 year old LOVES it too!! This is actually the only chili he will eat, and will specifically ask me to make it. This chili is also great to make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The best chili I ever made and I was out of cumin. Warning, it is a little spicy. I did take a couple of suggestions and left out the celery, used 1 cup of beer, and I used 3 mild cans of chili beans and 1 spicy. I used a mixture of kidney and pinto beans, the recipe didn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is AWESOME chili ...I just made it tonight. I used stew meat instead of ground beef and went a little lighter on the ingredients that add the "Heat"but other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out FABULOUS! Hubby and guests loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Wow! I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and it was great. I did what other people suggested by making it the day before. I did not change anything other then leaving out the tabasco, as I was unsure how spicy this was. Turns out I could have added it and it would have been fine. Really, Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Best chili recipe I've found yet! Family loved it! Very flavorful, thick and had a kick to it! Here's what I did differently: I cooked the Italian spicy sausage on the stovetop, drained the grease from it then threw that and everything else in a crockpot, cooked on low overnight. Left out the bouillon cubes after seeing it's almost 900mg of salt per cube! Still tasted VERY, VERY GOOD! Added a full can of beer instead of a 1/2, used stew meat pieces instead of ground beef chuck, cut up 1 and 1/2 green cayenne peppers instead of 2 and didn't add the hot sauce for fear it would be too hot, but might have been fine. It turned out spicy, but not overly spicy so that you couldn't taste the flavors, it was the perfect amount of spice in my opinion. ( On a side note, wear GLOVES when handling the cayenne peppers! No joke, I didn't know you could burn your hands, found out the hard way, the rest of the night I was GOOGLING how to stop my hands from burning, it was awful, soaked my hands in everything and nothing stopped the burning.)It filled my large crockpot to the top, had lots of leftovers which was still very good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States