Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. All the kids liked it alot. Just a little bit spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Excellent chili!! will use this recipe for now on. the key is to make sure you cook it long enough, it really brings out all the flavors. WOW, my favorite chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I think this recipe has way too much Tomato. Also, the beans don't need to cook for 2 hours. They are likely already cooked in the can. Put them in about 30 minutes before the chili is done. Otherwise they are likely to be mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Excellent base recipe. I made a few modifications, specifically, I used 1.5lbs of ground sirloin beef and 1.5lbs of sage sausage. I also used one can dark red kidney beans, one can light red kidney beans and one can of pinto beans instead of 3 cans of plain chili beans for variety. Regarding the peppers, I used 1 green and 1 red bell, a jalapeno and an Anaheim pepper for a decent amount of heat without aggravating my stomach. Other suggestions: make sure that you mince your own fresh garlic. Also, making your own bacon bits from fresh bacon is best. There is no excuse for imitation bacon. And, finally, the beer. First off, I am not a big fan of beer in general (I prefer whiskey), but if I'm going to consume beer, I prefer Light Lagers. That said, I used Bud Select in my Chili and the way to do this (regardless of your choice of beer) is to buy a 12 pack. As soon as you get to the kitchen, open your first beer and take two big gulps directly from the bottle (you'll cook off any bacteria), then pour your half-cup. Now, make sure that you have an non-empty, open bottle until you are to the simmering stage. I was on my fourth, but I'm 6'8" and 350lbs; you should have a nice buzz by the end of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have made this several times and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Every time I cook this everyone raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was great chili. Made pretty much to the recipe. Omitted the tobasco and served it on the side. Used a chuck roast and chopped it instead of the he ground chuck. Would add more Anehiem peppers and maybe a couple jalapeños next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good the first and second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States