Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Excellent. This will be my standard chili recipe from here on out. I faithfully followed the recipe. The end result was awesome. It's spicey hot which suits me fine! If I were to change anything, I might cut down on the cumin. The chili improved with age and actually cooled down a bit. Way to go and thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Followed the recipe with the exception of 19oz of sausage and 12 oz of beer(used entire container each time). Probably the best chili I've ever had. Can't think of anything I would do different. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Stanardsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I normally do not like chili, but decided to try this for my family,and it is the BEST chili I have ever made. I will use this as my standard receipe from now on. I made it with all ground beef (no sausage) and it was quite yummy with a nice little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was pretty good, it was my first attempt at making chili. I followed the recipe and put it in the fridge overnight, then put it in a crockpot and brought it to work (group lunch) and set it on low all morning. Got rave reviews! Served with Homesteader Cornbread and saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I thought the chili was great. I changed a few of the ingredents as follows 1 can of beer, only one teaspoonn of cummin, only one teaspoon of tabasco sauce. Put in crook pot for six hours on slow cook. get ready for second and thirds Ymmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DALENARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakridge, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This chili is EXCELLENT! I am putting it in my file. It has a little kick to it which I really like. It tastes much better the next day, just re-heat it on the stove. I left out the fritos and made corn bread muffins. I topped the chili with cheddar cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
EDIT - Still the best chilli ever. My changes include using only 2 cans of beans, using chunks of steak (or stewing beef) instead of sausage, and if you like to keep'em guessing - add a nice tablespoon of spicy brown mustard. I've made this chilli over 10 times now and I have to make double batches because every member of my family requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Made this on Super Bowl Sunday and got rave reviews. May have been the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed others advice and added a full beer and cooked it in a slow-cooker all day. INCREDIBLE!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Had to try this recipe because we're big Boilermaker fans. Thought it was great; however, didn't use the spicy beans because of the kid's preference...I just let everyone add their own spices. (crushed red pepper with Frank's hot sauce)Everyone loved it. Go Boilers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States