Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made it with Founders Porter instead of a lager, pilsner, or stout. We didn't have chili beans in my local grocery store - so we used the following: 2 cans light kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can pink beans. Slow cooked it - 3 hours on high. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS served with french bread for scooping and cheddar cheese and sour cream. Made a (mostly) vegetarian version for the (many) friends I had giving meat up for lent (still added bullion and Worchestershire and a dash of bacon bits, with everyone's approval) that was also really delicious - I posted the recipe as a variation on this one, with suggestions on how to match if the flavor if you want to go full veg. The recipe as is, sans additions like bread, corn chips, sour cream, or cheese has 11 WW points. Reducing the meat to leaner varieties only really saves you a point - however if you try the veggie variation I posted, it has only 8 WW points per serving! Tomorrow I am going to try it with italian flavored chicken sausage. Can't wait to see how it tastes, and if that goes well will swap out the beef chuck for lean ground beef on the next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was the best chili I've had in a long time. I even froze it and when it was reheated it was still delicious. Can't wait to try it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Make it all the time. Hubby says I need to cut the heat....NOT GONNA HAPPEN! Perfect just the way it is. Tried once replacing beef/sausage with chicken.....just as good. And it was just leftover from a store bought rotisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ramey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Worth the work. Excellent slow cooker recipe! This is a great chili recipe. It takes some time, but try browning the meat& onion and throwing it all in a slow cooker on low for 8hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
What can I say? Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Seriously one of the best chillis I have made! I left out the bell peppers because my husband doesn't like them but it kept me coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely love this Cili! I make it everytime people come over and they all love it. The boyfriend likes it spicy so I put in mild beans. Hot will kill me but this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
As is, this chili is a little too spicy for a family with young children. I cut paprika, cayenne, chili powder, and chili pepper in half and was still spicy, but not over the top so my children could eat it. After that, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have made this so many times. It is a great recipe! Everywhere I have taken it, people love it. I cook it with the lid off the last hour or so because I like my chili thick! I use meatloaf mix for the meat. Also, I don't use the bacon bits. Otherwise, I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
used this for a chili competition, took first place ! only thing I did different from the recipe was used a whole 12 oz beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Houseman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States